BRDC Formula 4

F4 Newcomers Enjoy Snetterton Test

1 Mins read

Ginetta Junior race-winner Will Palmer and Protyre Formula Renault front-runners Jake Cook and Piers Hickin were amongst a group of racers testing BRDC Formula 4 machinery at Snetterton yesterday (22nd October).

Twelve young drivers, many straight from karting, were invited to the Norfolk-based circuit to try out the cars free of charge, with the series organisers hoping it may lead to entries for the forthcoming Winter Series or the 2014 season.

Palmer and Cook ran alongside Jack Partridge with Hillspeed, while Hickin was joined at Chris Dittmann Racing by Ben Hingeley. Champions Lanan Racing ran Danny Keirle and Harry Webb, Brett Ward and Joseph Mawson drove for MGR Motorsport, George Russell and Oliver Hodgson for Sean Walkinshaw Racing, and Jake Walker with KBS.

“It’s a really good car to drive and really easy to learn immediately, even in the wet which gives you a lot of confidence quickly. This is the series I’m looking at now for the Winter Championship and 2014,” said Cook.

Hickin noted: “It was great fun, the track conditions made things interesting but it’s been a really enjoyable and useful day.”

“I loved it,” exclaimed 2012 TKM Super 1 Champion Jack Partridge. “It’s a great car with plenty of grip and I’ve loved every minute and made good progress throughout the day. It’s an easy transition from karts to cars and it’s not as daunting as everyone thinks it is!”

“A very exciting experience,” added 2013 Senior Rotax Max Kart Masters champion Hodgson. “The car has an unbelievable amount of grip and it encourages you to keep pushing and gives you confidence and trust in the car. In the wet the car was more forgiving than I thought and really enjoyable to drive.”

Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.

Leave a Reply