Fielding Wins 2013 RSF MSA Young Driver Award

by Simon Paice

BRDC Formula 4 Winter Championship race-winner Sennan Fielding has been announced as the latest winner of the RSF MSA Young Driver of the Year award.

The award is awarded annually to a student in the MSA Academy, with five members of the MSA’s AASE programme battling it out for the award, BRDC Formula 4 racers Fielding and Seb Morris, karters Jack McConnell and Doug Hayford, and rally driver Kasia Nicklin.

The finalists took part in a day-long event at iZone Driver Performance at Silverstone, tackling a variety of simulator challenges, gym assessment, reaction test and psychometrics.

They were also interviewed by the judging panel, which included MSA Performance Director Robert Reid, MSA Performance Manager Tom Onslow-Cole, Racing Steps Foundation’s Derek Walters and Ben Anderson, national editor of Autosport magazine.

“Becoming the RSF MSA Young Driver of the Year is an achievement that I’m really proud of. I didn’t really know what to expect of the shootout beforehand; it was a step into the unknown so I was pretty nervous,” said Fielding.

“I gave my all throughout the event but had no idea how I was faring. I was thrilled when my name was called as the winner, it’s great to end the year on a real high and it’s a massive confidence boost for 2014.”

Fielding will receive £1,000 and a trophy at the MSA’s prestigious Night of Champions ceremony in January. Current GP3 racer Josh Webster won the award in 2011, with former British Junior Rally Champion Chris Ingram proving successful last year.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More