Renault UK Clio Cup

UK Clio Cup: The Third-Gen Years

4 Mins read

The Beginning

The Clio Renaultsport 197 was introduced to the UK series back in 2007 with fantastic results, grid sizes booming to an era-high over the first season.

43 cars entered the opening weekend, meaning a unique race format had to be introduced that saw two qualifying races on the Saturday determine the grid for the single points-scoring race on Sunday.

That format was used on eight of the ten weekends, with the now-conventional two points-scoring races format being used when entry was less than the maximum number of permitted starters.

While 43 proved to be a season-high entry, grids remained around the 40 mark most the season, and even the season-low entry was 32 cars on the final weekend at Thruxton, a grid size un-matched in recent years.

While it may have been six years ago, some thing’s in the Clio Cup never change, as 2007 saw both Stefan Hodgetts and Paul Rivett taking now customary race victories – the former picking up five en-route to second in the standings, the latter two in a four race spell in the series.

(Photo Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography)

Avatar photo
4148 posts

About author
Simon is an experienced journalist and PR officer, who has worked in the national motorsport paddocks for over a decade, primarily on the BTCC support package.
Related posts
Renault UK Clio Cup

Clio Cup UK Championship Postponed until 2021

1 Mins read
The 2020 Renault Sport Racing Clio Cup Championship has been postponed until 2021 due to the effects of the recent Coronavirus Pandemic
Renault UK Clio CupTCR Europe

Jack Young graduates from Clio Cup to TCR Europe

1 Mins read
17 year-old Jack Young will step up into a TCR-spec Renault Megane for the rest of the season.
Renault UK Clio Cup

All change at the top of the Renault UK Clio Cup standings following Oulton Park

2 Mins read
Jack Young and Max Coates won at Oulton Park. However, it’s all change at the top of the table