BRDC Formula 4

F4 Vice-Champion Morris Joins NEC With Caterham

1 Mins read

Seb Morris will compete in the Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup in 2014, with backing from the Caterham Racing Academy.

The 18 year old finished second in the inaugural running of the BRDC Formula 4 Championship in 2013, taking a solitary race win alongside nine other podium finishes.

The 2011 Ginetta Junior champion made his single-seater bow in Formula Renault BARC in 2012, finishing as the highest placed rookie in third overall, before becoming Winter Series champion.

Morris will now join fellow BRDC Formula 4 graduates Jake Hughes and Charlie Robertson on the 2014 NEC grid, though with which team has yet to be confirmed.

“Joining the Caterham Academy is pretty huge for me,” said Morris. “To be part of an F1 team, with all the support and knowledge brings, is a massive step forwards for my career.”

Morris, who is already a member of the MSA Academy and BRDC Rising Stars scheme, joins fellow Welshman Matt Parry in the Formula One team’s development programme. Parry won the 2013 Formula Renault NEC title with their backing.

“Matt Parry is someone I look up to, and who I had a real battle with in the McLaren Autosport Award. I am following his footsteps this year both as a Caterham driver and in NEC and I am looking to win it as Matt did,” Morris added.

Other members of the Caterham Racing Academy include GP2 driver Alexander Rossi and 2013 Protyre Formula Renault Championship runner-up Weiron Tan.

“Seb is another outstanding addition to our list of Academy drivers,” commented Mia Sharizman, Head of Caterham Racing Academy.

“His talent speaks for itself. He will be a strong contender for championship honours this season and, if, as we firmly believe he will, he fulfils his promise, the UK will have another serious motorsport talent to back.”

Avatar photo
4148 posts

About author
Simon is an experienced journalist and PR officer, who has worked in the national motorsport paddocks for over a decade, primarily on the BTCC support package.
Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4GB3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.