BRDC Formula 4

Menchaca Teams With Douglas For 2014 BRDC F4

1 Mins read

Diego Menchaca will return to the BRDC Formula 4 Championship this season, switching from MGR Motorsport to Douglas Motorsport for a championship challenge in his third season of UK racing.

The 19 year old finished eleventh overall in the single-seater championship last season, a consistent campaign seeing him card a top ten finish in half of the 24 races, with a best finish of second at Brands Hatch in July.

The Mexican combined his F4 season with a part-campaign in the Protyre Formula Renault Championship last year, the series he made his UK racing debut in back in 2012, but will focus solely on F4 this year.

“I’m really pleased to continue in the BRDC F4 Championship in 2014. The series proved itself as the most competitive category to compete in last year and with my experience from last season I really hope to be fighting for wins and of course the championship this year,” said Menchaca, who is part of the Escuderia Telmex driver programme that includes F1 stars Esteban Gutierrez and Sergio Perez.

Douglas Motorsport won last season’s F4 Winter Championship with Matthew Graham, and Menchaca is their second signing for the upcoming campaign, karting graduate Charlie Eastwood being the first.

“Douglas Motorsport proved they are a front running team during the Winter Championship, and I am really looking forward to working with them in 2014 and I´m sure they will give me the right tools to accomplish our objectives,” added Menchaca.

It is great to welcome Diego to the team,” commented team principal Wayne Douglas. “Having watched his progress last season we hope he can be running at the front from the first round. We feel we have a very strong driver line-up with Diego and Charlie Eastwood and are very much aiming for the title to add to our Winter Championship success from last year.”

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4GB3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.