24 Hours of Le Mans

Michelin announce Total Performance award

1 Mins read

Endurance winning tyre manufacturers Michelin have announced a new award for the 2014 24 Hours of Le Mans in a bid to promote sustainable mobility with a prize of €1 Million given to the winner.

The French company – which will shod the entire LMP1-L and LMP1-H category in the World Endurance Championship –  have announced that the prize will be given to the team which fulfils the below categories in the 2014 running of the race, which will see nine entries in the top class:

• Criterion N°1: Victory 

To be considered for this prize, the team must win the Le Mans 24 Hours outright.

• Criterion N°2: Performance over a single lap 

The winning car must also post the fastest race lap.

• Criterion N°3: A new distance record 

The winning crew must beat the race’s distance record. Since 2011, it has stood at 5,410km.

• Criterion N°4: Reduced fuel consumption 

The winner must achieve a fuel consumption saving of at least 15 percent over the average amount of energy consumed by the LMP1 finishers in 2013.

• Criterion N°5: Low consumption of tyres 

The number of tyres used by the winning crew during the race must not exceed nine sets.

The company believes this new competition follows on perfectly from the Green X Challenge – which was prevalent in the American Le Mans Series – as Pascal Couasnon, the Director of Michelin Motorsport explains: “In the world of motorsport, Michelin is a technical partner which contributes to giving real meaning to the discipline. In accordance with this principle, and in association with the Automobile Club de l’Ouest, the Michelin Green X Challenge was introduced in 2009 as an integral part of endurance racing’s regulations. The objective of the challenge was to reward the sport’s most energy-efficient competitors. The Michelin Total Performance Award marks the next phase of the company’s responsible involvement in motorsport, from both the societal and environmental points of view.”

814 posts

About author
3rd Year Multimedia Journalism Student at Teesside University, interested in motorsport and writing about it as well. I'm also a qualified pilot but I don't mention that much.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansIMSASportscars

Andreas Roos steps in as Head of BMW M Motorsport with Mike Krack departure

2 Mins read
As Mike Krack follows his Formula 1 ambitions, Andreas Roos takes over the role as Head of BMW M Motorsport.
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

Delight and heartbreak for 24 Hours of Le Mans LMP2 winners Team WRT

5 Mins read
A broken throttle sensor denied Team WRT an historic LMP2 1-2 on their Le Mans debut, but still managed to secure victory in a close finish.
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

24 Hours of Le Mans: Hour 24 – Lights to Flag Victory for Conway, Kobayashi and Lopez

4 Mins read
Toyota Gazoo Racing and AF Corse secured the overall and LM GTE Pro victories at the 2021 24 Hours of Le Mans with exceptional clean lights to flag dominance.