BRDC Formula 4

SWR Sign International Pairing For BRDC F4

2 Mins read

Sean Walkinshaw Racing have announced their first two drivers for the 2014 BRDC Formula 4 Championship, with Venezuelan Diego Borrelli and Dane Nicolas Beer making their UK racing debuts with the Chipping Norton-based outfit.

16 year old Borrelli arrives in the UK with an impressive reputation, having won more than half a dozen karting titles throughout his formative career. He’s raced recently in international karting competition with support from ART Grand Prix.

Borrelli, who is managed by GP2 team owner Adrian Campos, got his first taste of Formjula 4 machinery last week, running an intensive test schedule with SWR in Spain. He’s previously tested Formula Renault and Formula 3 cars in Europe.

“I am really happy to have signed my deal with SWR for BRDC Formula 4 this year, it’s a strong championship and the team is already proven as a title challenger and race winner,” said Borrelli. “I think we did a good job in testing last week in Valencia, I enjoyed driving the car and worked well with the guys in the team.”

Beer meanwhile joins the Formula 4 championship as a proven front-runner in single-seaters, having previously competed in Formula Ford and ADAC Formel Masters.

The 17 year old made his single-seater debut in 2012 following a successful karting career, winning races in Formula Ford Denmark, while also gaining experience with part-campaigns in Formula Ford NEZ, Austrian Formel 1600 Cup and the ADAC Formel Masters.

Beer returned to the latter last season and a great campaign saw him finish fourth overall, with victories at Nurburgring and Hockenheim, plus six other podium finishes, to his name.

“I’m really happy to be joining SWR for my first season in BRDC Formula 4, I can’t wait for the season to start,” said Beer. “Last year was very strong, I had some wins and a lot of podiums and I want to be fighting like that in F4 as soon as I can. The guys at SWR run a fantastic team and I know they’re going to give me a great car. Even though I don’t know the UK circuits, I’m confident we’ll do well.”

SWR were front-runners in the inaugural running of BRDC F4 last year, with both Jack Barlow and Matthew Graham mounting title challenges with the team. Despite both heading into the season finale with a chance of the title, they eventually finished ………… and ………….in the standings respectively, having accumulated ……….. race wins and ………… other podiums between them.

Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.

Leave a Reply