Global RallycrossX Games

Volkswagen Enter Beetle Into Global Rallycross Championship

1 Mins read

The Volkswagen Beetle will compete in US motorsport in 2014, entering the Global Rallycross Championship.

A partnership with Andretti Autosport will form the Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross Team, running a Rallycross Beetle featuring all-wheel-drive and a TSI engine delivering more than 560hp. The team will run two cars for the 2014 season, with Tanner Foust and Scott Speed in the driving seats.

The team will start the season running modified Polo rally cars, built on the 2013 World Rally Championship winning chassis, before switching to the GRC Beetle during the season.

Both drivers enjoyed success in the 2013 rallycross season, with Foust taking victory at two rounds of the European Rallycross Championship and a Silver and Bronze medal in the X Games, while Scott Speed took a Gold medal at the X Games Brazil event, before winning an additional round of the Global Rallycross Championship at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

883 posts

About author
Based in Mid-Wales, James joined TCF at the start of the 2013 season, covering a range of disciplines, predominantly Motorcycle Road Racing and NASCAR. Follow him on Twitter @JCCharman
Related posts
Global RallycrossGRC LitesNASCAR Cup SeriesStadium SUPER TrucksX Games

Austin Cindric joins Robby Gordon as X Games medalists with NASCAR Cup wins

6 Mins read
What do Daytona 500 champ Austin Cindric and Robby Gordon have in common? They’re the only drivers with NASCAR Cup Series wins and X Games medals. Thanks to rallycross and Stadium Super Trucks, the NASCAR/X Games overlap is quite deep.
Stadium SUPER TrucksX Games

SST alumnus Nick Baumgartner adds Winter Olympic gold

3 Mins read
Nick Baumgartner now has a special title: racing drivers with an Olympic medal. The off-road veteran, who scored a Stadium Super Trucks podium in 2013, and Lindsey Jacobellis won the Winter Olympics gold in mixed snowboard cross for Team USA.
Global RallycrossNASCAR Truck SeriesNASCAR Xfinity SeriesStadium SUPER TrucksX Games

Xfinity, Truck Championship Rounds feature SST, X Games experience

6 Mins read
Of the 8 NASCAR Xfinity and Truck drivers fighting for championships this weekend, 3—Sheldon Creed, Zane Smith, and Brett Moffit—have driven a Stadium Super Truck. Creed and Xfinity regular season champ Austin Cindric have also won X Games off-road medals.