BRDC Formula 4

Arjun Maini Joins Lanan for F4 2014

1 Mins read
Arjun Miani joins Lanan Racing for the 2014 BRDC Formula 4 Championship

The BRDC Formula 4 grid for 2014 is filling up quickly, with defending champion team Lanan Racing as the latest outfit to fill all of their cars. Arjun Maini has been confirmed as the team’s third driver alongside George Russell and Struan Moore. The team’s championship winning driver Jake Hughes has moved on to Formula Renault NEC and will not race in BRDC F4 this season.

Sixteen year old Maini comes from an impressive early career on the Indian sub-continent and Asia. Winner of the Force India ‘One From a Billion’ talent search in India, he benefited from support from the team for a year in Super One karting in 2012. Last year he came second in the JK Tyre Racing Series in India and claimed the Super 6 Series in Sepang, Malaysia.

His karting career has been equally illustrious prior to his Force India backing. Arjun has claimed eighty podiums and twenty-two wins in the past five years.

“I’m really excited to be racing in the BRDC F4 Championship in 2014,” Maini commented. “I’m really looking forward to racing with Lanan, they are a fantastic group of passionate and determined people who have already shown they are a top team in this championship. I will concentrate on doing my very best for the team and can’t wait to get started.”

Lanan Racing team principal, Graham Johnson added, “We’re really looking forward to working with Arjun this season and are confident he will work well with George Russell and Struan Moore helping to push each other. We’ve got a busy pre-season testing campaign lined up which will allow Arjun to get up to speed and learn the UK circuits. We have done 2 days testing with him and already he is showing fantastic pace, I think we may have another star on our hands.”

BRDC Formula 4 2014 Teams and Drivers:

Hillspeed: Rahul Raj Mayer, Gustavo Lima, TBA.
Douglas Motorsport: Charlie Eastwood, Diego Menchaca, Rodrigo Fonseca.
Lanan Racing: George Russell, Struan Moore, Arjun Maini.
HHC Motorsport: Sennan Fielding, Raoul Hyman, Will Palmer.
Team O’Br: Jordan Albert.
MGR Motorsport: Chris Middlehurst, TBA, TBA.
Chris Dittmann Racing: Tom Jackson, TBA.
Sean Walkinshaw Racing: Diego Borrrelli, Nicolas Beer, TBA.
PetroBall Racing Limited: Gaetano Di Mauro, TBA.
Enigma: TBA.
Motionsport: TBA.
Team KBS: TBA.

364 posts

About author
I am a photographer, writer and podcast presenter, specialising in GT and Endurance racing. I've been with The Checkered Flag since 2014, covering a wide range of racing series from Formula Ford to Formula 1, with British GT the main focus of my work. You can hear me monthly on the British GT Fans Show which can be found in our Recommended Listening section.
Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4GB3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.