BRDC Formula 4

Barrichello Protégé di Mauro Joins Petroball F4

1 Mins read

Petroball Racing has confirmed their first driver for the BRDC Formula 4 Championship as Gaetano di Mauro. The 17-year-old Brazilian makes his single seater and European debut with the team when the season gets underway at Silverstone in April. Gaetano has twice claimed the Brazilian championship in Shifter Karts and took the Sprint Race prototype series in Brazil alongside Guilherme Salas last year.

December 2013 saw di Mauro in action in the 500 Mihas de Beto Carrero, sharing a Kart with Rubens Barrichello, Tony Kanaan and Felipe Giaffone. Barrichello also serves as advisor to the young Brazilian hope and may attend rounds of the BRDC championship which do not clash with his own commitments to F1 commentary and Brazilian Stock Cars.

di Mauro was delighted to sign for Petroball Racing, saying “I am still dreaming about it all. Everything moved very fast in 2013, winning kart and car championships and winning the race with Rubens Barrichello. 2014 has started in the same way, signing with Petroball Racing to race in the fantastic BRDC F4 series in the UK. I could not be happier and am looking forward to repaying the faith they have in me.”

Team Principal, Jose Roberto Sabathe added, “We are very happy to have signed Gaetano di Mauro to be our first driver in the 2014 BRDC F4 Championship. As we follow the same philosophy of the series, it is important to give opportunities to new young Brazilian talents.”

Sabathe also hinted that their second driver announcement could come next week and will likely be a driver from the USA rather than a South American racer.

The team meanwhile have continued to set up their UK based operation, moving into premises in Milton Keynes and acquiring a property for their drivers. The team have also now taken delivery of two brand new MSV F4-013s at Bedford Autodrome and will be at the MSV media day at Brands Hatch tomorrow.

Avatar photo
366 posts

About author
I am a photographer, writer and podcast presenter, specialising in GT and Endurance racing. I've been with The Checkered Flag since 2014, covering a wide range of racing series from Formula Ford to Formula 1, with British GT the main focus of my work. You can hear me monthly on the British GT Fans Show which can be found in our Recommended Listening section.
Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4GB3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.