GP2 Series

Haryanto Keeps Caterham On Top in Bahrain

1 Mins read

Indonesian racer Rio Haryanto finished day two of the GP2 pre-season test in Bahrain on top of the timing screens to enable his EQ8 Caterham Racing team to finish on top for the second consecutive day.  His team-mate Alexander Rossi, fastest on day one yesterday, finished second, with Carlin’s Julian Leal third.

Haryanto’s lap of 1:39.129s was faster than the pole position lap set by Marcus Ericsson during the 2013 season.  He finished 0.044s faster than Rossi.  Leal was over four tenths of a second back in third, while Italian Raffaele Marciello was fourth for Racing Engineering.

British driver Jolyon Palmer continued his good pre-season by finishing fifth in his DAMS car, just ahead of Mitch Evans, who put in another top ten time for Russian Time.  McLaren F1 junior driver Stoffel Vandoorne in his ART Grand Prix car, Monegasque driver Stephane Richelmi in the second DAMS car, Austrian Rene Binder in his Arden International machine, and Japanese driver Kimiya Sato for Campos Racing rounded out the top ten.

Conor Daly was fastest of the drivers not to have a confirmed ride for the 2014 season in thirteenth for Venezuela GP Lazarus, while Vittorio Ghirelli was 21st for Trident Racing, and Jon Lancaster 23rd for MP Motorsport.  Ghirelli will hand over his car for the final day of the test to Zimbabwean driver Axcil Jefferies, who tested for the Trident team in Abu Dhabi last week.

The final day of the final pre-season test resumes tomorrow at 9am local time.

Bahrain Day 2 Pre-season Test Times

1 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:39.129
2 Alexander Rossi USA EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:39.173
3 Julian Leal COL Carlin 1:39.538
4 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering 1:39.704
5 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS 1:39.854
6 Mitch Evans NZL Russian Time 1:39.870
7 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix 1:39.913
8 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS 1:40.045
9 Rene Binder AUT Arden International 1:40.126
10 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing 1:40.154
11 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:40.190
12 Artem Markelov RUS Russian Time 1:40.191
13 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:40.233
14 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax 1:40.250
15 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International 1:40.314
16 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport 1:40.508
17 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix 1:40.678
18 Johnny Cecotto VEN Trident 1:40.779
19 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin 1:40.786
20 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing 1:40.840
21 Vittorio Ghirelli ITA Trident 1:40.991
22 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering 1:41.106
23 Jon Lancaster GBR MP Motorsport 1:41.166
24 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax 1:41.436
25 Facu Regalia ARG Hilmer Motorsport 1:41.476
26 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport 1:41.746
13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
Formula 2GP2 Series

FIA announce GP2 re-branding as FIA Formula 2 Championship

1 Mins read
The FIA Formula 2 Championship has been born following the re-branding of the GP2 Series, starting with the 2017 season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

ART Grand Prix bring Albon into GP2 Series line-up

1 Mins read
Alexander Albon will make the jump from GP3 to GP2 in 2017, remaining with the ART Grand Prix squad he finished second with last season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

Ghiotto joins Markelov at Russian Time for 2017

1 Mins read
Luca Ghiotto will move from Trident to Russian Time in 2017, where he will join Artem Markelov.