GP2 Series

Jolyon Palmer Remains On Top as Daly Crashes

2 Mins read

DAMS driver Jolyon Palmer ended day two of the pre-season test in Abu Dhabi on the top of the standings, but Conor Daly’s running was curtailed by a crash with Facu Regalia that caused the American drivers’ Venezuela GP Lazarus machine to barrel roll.

It was the second consecutive day that British driver Palmer was fastest, and his 1:50.311s lap was almost half a second clear of Trident Racing’s Johnny CecottoStoffel Vandoorne finished third in his ART Grand Prix car, just ahead of Palmer’s DAMS team-mate Stephane Richelmi.

Jon Lancaster, one of three drivers who have yet to be confirmed in a drive for the 2014 season, was fifth in his second day running for MP Motorsport, while series debutant Kimiya Sato ended the day in an impressive sixth for Campos Racing.  Mitch Evans, who was second fastest on day one, ended up in seventh for Russian Time.  Andre Negrao was eighth for Arden International just ahead of the two EQ8 Caterham Racing drivers of Rio Haryanto and Alexander Rossi.

It was a relative quiet day for some of the championship favourites.  Felipe Nasr was 15th for Carlin, while the Racing Engineering pair of Raffaele Marciello and Stefano Coletti ended the day 18th and 21st respectively.

Vandoorne caused the first red flag of the day when he clipped the barriers at turn 19, while Axcil Jefferies caused two stoppages for Trident Racing.  But the most dramatic incident was when Conor Daly, on a quick lap, collided with the slower moving Facu Regalia at turn 18.  Daly’s car was launched over the Hilmer Motorsport machine and barrel-rolled, but the American emerged unscathed.

The third and final day of the Abu Dhabi test is tomorrow.

Abu Dhabi Day 2 Pre-Season Test Times

1 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS 1:50.311
2 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing 1:50.760
3 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL Art Grand Prix 1:50.821
4 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS 1:50.947
5 Jon Lancaster GBR MP Motorsport 1:51.005
6 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing 1:51.204
7 Mitch Evans NZL Russian Time 1:51.231
8 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International 1:51.237
9 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:51.445
10 Alexander Rossi USA EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:51.484
11 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport 1:51.590
12 Facu Regalia ARG Hilmer Motorsport 1:51.614
13 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport 1:51.668
14 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing 1:51.769
15 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin 1:51.810
16 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:51.846
17 Julian Leal COL Carlin 1:51.893
18 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering 1:52.024
19 Rene Binder AUT Arden International 1:52.038
20 Artem Markelov RUS Russian Time 1:52.341
21 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering 1:52.404
22 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix 1:52.528
23 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:52.580
24 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax 1:52.595
25 Simon Trummer SUI Rapax 1:52.640
26 Axcil Jefferies ZIM Trident Racing 1:52.944
Related posts
Formula 2GP2 Series

FIA announce GP2 re-branding as FIA Formula 2 Championship

1 Mins read
The FIA Formula 2 Championship has been born following the re-branding of the GP2 Series, starting with the 2017 season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

ART Grand Prix bring Albon into GP2 Series line-up

1 Mins read
Alexander Albon will make the jump from GP3 to GP2 in 2017, remaining with the ART Grand Prix squad he finished second with last season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

Ghiotto joins Markelov at Russian Time for 2017

1 Mins read
Luca Ghiotto will move from Trident to Russian Time in 2017, where he will join Artem Markelov.

Leave a Reply