Formula Renault 3.5

Pre-Season Testing Resumes in Jerez

2 Mins read

The second pre-season test for the Formula Renault 3.5 series is underway at the Spanish track of Circuito de Jerez, which will host the season finale in October.  Carlos Sainz Jr and DAMS topped the timing screens of the first in Aragon last month, and the Spaniard will be one of the ones to watch here too, along with other title favourites such as Sergey Sirotkin, Oliver Rowland, Will Stevens and Pierre Gasly.

There are a number of drivers yet to be confirmed to race in the series in 2014, and some of them will want to impress their potential employers in the next three days.  Nigel Melker, who finished sixth in the championship in 2013 with Tech 1 Racing is having all three days with ISR, while Cypriot driver Tio Ellinas is splitting his three days between two teams, testing for the first two days with Tech 1 with the third at Pons Racing.

Dutch female racer Beitske Visser has been given all three days of to prove herself alongside the already confirmed Zoel Amberg.  Russian Roman Mavlanov and Spaniard Roberto Mehri are testing for Zeta Corse, while Romanian Robert Visoiu (days one and two) and Dutchman Meindert van Buuren (all three days) are testing for Pons Racing alongside Ellinas (final day).

The Carlin team are again absent from the test, and doubts must now be rising about whether the team will race in 2014 at all, having missed the first test in Aragon too.  Comtec Racing have only brought Russian Nikolay Martsenko to the test, with their second car’s driver still to be announced.

Jerez Pre-season Test Entry List

1 Carlos Sainz Jr ESP DAMS
2 Norman Nato FRA DAMS
3 Sergey Sirotkin RUS Fortec Motorsports
4 Oliver Rowland GBR Fortec Motorsports
5 Pietro Fantin BRZ International Draco Racing
6 Luca Ghiotto ITA International Draco Racing
7 Pierre Gasly FRA Arden Motorsport
8 William Buller GBR Arden Motorsport
9 Tio Ellinas (Day 1 & 2) CYP Tech 1 Racing
  TBA   Tech 1 Racing
10 Marco Sorensen DEN Tech 1 Racing
11 Will Stevens GBR Strakka Racing
12 Matias Laine FIN Strakka Racing
15 Marlon Stockinger PHI Lotus
16 Matthieu Vaxiviere FRA Lotus
17 Jazeman Jaafar MAL ISR
18 Nigel Melker NED ISR
19 Beitske Visser NED AV Formula
20 Zoel Amberg SWI AV Formula
21 Roman Mavlanov RUS Zeta Corse
22 Roberto Mehri ESP Zeta Corse
25 Robert Visoiu (Day 1 & 2) ROM Pons Racing
  Tio Ellinas (Day 3) ESP Pons Racing
26 Meindert van Buuren NED Pons Racing
27 Nikolay Martsenko RUS Comtec Racing
 *Drivers in italics to be confirmed*
Related posts
FIA World RallycrossFormula 4Formula Renault 3.5

#BakkerudLife | Testing FORMULA Cars For The FIRST TIME! Red Bull Ring

1 Mins read
In preparation for his upcoming DTM test, Andreas Bakkerud figured he needed some downforce training, and what better way to do it – than a sunny Red Bull Ring day kind of way.
Formula Renault 3.5Indy Lights

Stoneman in Indy Lights move with Andretti Autosport

1 Mins read
British driver Dean Stoneman will race in Indy Lights in 2016 after joining Andretti Autosport.
Formula Renault 3.5Season Review

2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series Season Review – Rowland’s Year

5 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series season, with a good battle for the championship between Oliver Rowland and Matthieu Vaxiviere.

Leave a Reply