2014 Auto GP Season Preview – Part 1 – The Schedule and Drivers

With the fifth season of the Auto GP World Series rapidly approaching, let us look at the venues the cars will race at this year, how the series allocates its points in each race over each weekend, and finally who is driving for who in 2014.

2014 Auto GP World Series Race Schedule

The calendar has changed a lot from 2013, with the rounds at Silverstone, Mugello, Donington Park and Masaryk all discarded in favour of Paul Ricard, Imola, the Red Bull Ring in Austria, and Estoril in Portugal. The Monza round that opened the series in 2013 has been moved back to round four this time around.

There are eight rounds in total in 2014, all consisting of two races, with one qualifying session dictating the grid for race one. For race two, the drivers will line up in the finishing order of race one, apart from the top eight who will be reversed.

1 Race 1 Marrakech Street Circuit Morocco 12 April
Race 2 13 April
2 Race 1 Circuit Paul Ricard, Le Castellet France 19 April
Race 2 20 April
3 Race 1 Hungaroring, Budapest Hungary 03 May
Race 2 04 May
4 Race 1 Autodromo Nazionale Monza Italy 31 May
Race 2 01 June
5 Race 1 Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari Italy 28 June
Race 2 29 June
6 Race 1 Red Bull Ring, Spielberg Austria 19 July
Race 2 20 July
7 Race 1 Nurburgring Germany 16 August
Race 2 17 August
8 Race 1 Autodromo do Estoril Portugal 18 October
Race 2 19 October

2014 Auto GP World Series Points Allocations

All races over the year follow the Formula 1-style scoring system, and both the Saturday and Sunday races score the same. There are two points awarded for pole position.

Race 1 Points: 1st – 25 Points; 2nd – 18 Points; 3rd – 15 Points; 4th – 12 Points; 5th – 10 Points; 6th – 8 Points; 7th – 6 Points; 8th – 4 Points; 9th – 2 Points; 10th – 1 Point.

Race 2 Points: 1st – 20 Points; 2nd – 15 Points; 3rd – 12 Points; 4th – 10 Points; 5th – 8 Points; 6th – 6 Points; 7th – 4 Points; 8th – 3 Points; 9th – 2 Points; 10th – 1 Point.

2014 Auto GP World Series Entry List

So far, seven teams have confirmed their entry into the series, with eleven drivers announced. Other entries are likely. Dutch squad MP Motorsport confirmed they would not return for 2014, but Ghinzani Racing have been very quiet about their involvement, but are unlikely to participate as they missed all of the pre-season tests.

Kimiya Sato is running a partial series due to his GP2 commitments.

Super Nova International 1 TBA
2 Markus Pommer GER
88 Michela Cerruti ITA
Virtuosi Racing 4 Andrea Roda ITA
Ibiza Racing Team 7 Giuseppe Cipriani ITA
20 Francesco Dracone ITA
Zele Racing 8 Sergio Campana ITA
9 Tamas Pal Kiss HUN
Euronova Racing 16 Kimiya Sato JAP
Puma 3 M-Sport by Eurotech 28 Kevin Giovesi ITA
69 Loris Spinelli ITA
MLR71 by Euronova 71 Michele La Rosa ITA