Formula Renault 3.5

2014 FR3.5 Series Season Preview – Part 2 – The Schedule and Drivers

2 Mins read

With the tenth season of the Formula Renault 3.5 Series rapidly approaching, let us look at the venues the cars will race at this year, how the series allocates its points in each race over each weekend, and finally who is driving for who in 2014.

2014 Formula Renault 3.5 Series Race Schedule

The calendar has changed a little from 2013, with the round in Austria leaving the series to be replaced by a round at the Nurburgring in Germany, while the season ending race has moved from one Spanish circuit to another, from the Circuit de Catalunya to the Circuito de Jerez.

There are nine rounds in total in 2014, all consisting of two races, apart from the Monaco round when their will be only one race as the series supports the Formula 1 series for the event – the one and only time the two series race on the same weekend all season.  There are also separate qualifying sessions for each race on the morning of the race.






Race 1

Autodromo   Nazionale Monza


12   April

Race 2

13 April


Race 1

Ciudad   del Motor de Aragon


26   April

Race 2

27   April


Race 1

Circuit   de Monaco, Monte Carlo


25 May


Race 1

Circuit   de Spa-Francorchamps


31 May

Race 2

01   June


Race 1

Moscow   Raceway


28   June

Race 2

29   June


Race 1



12   July

Race 2

13   July


Race 1

Hungaroring,   Budapest


13   September

Race 2

14   September


Race 1

Circuit   Paul Ricard, Le Castellet


27   September

Race 2

28   September


Race 1

Circuito   de Jerez


18   October

Race 2

19   October

2014 Formula Renault 3.5 Series Points Allocations

All races over the year follow the Formula 1-style scoring system, and both the Saturday and Sunday races score the same.  There are no points awarded for either pole position or fastest lap.

Race Points: 1st – 25 Points; 2nd – 18 Points; 3rd – 15 Points; 4th – 12 Points; 5th – 10 Points; 6th – 8 Points; 7th – 6 Points; 8th – 4 Points; 9th – 2 Points; 10th – 1 Point.

2014 Formula Renault 3.5 Series Entry List

All the teams that competed in the 2013 championship have been confirmed to return for 2014, though at present the participation of the Carlin is in doubt.   Only one driver currently confirmed for 2014 has previously won a Formula Renault 3.5 series race, which is Marco Sorensen.  There are still four seats available plus the two Carlin seats which as we talk about the entry list, the team have announced they will be absent for at least the first round in Monza due to a shortage in funding.  They hope to race from round two onwards.

The top three drivers from 2013 have departed the series; Kevin Magnussen has joined the McLaren F1 team, Stoffel Vandoorne has joined the ART Grand Prix team in the GP2 series, while Antonio Felix da Costa has joined BMW in the German DTM series.  Fifth placed from 2013 Nico Muller has also joined the DTM series with Audi.

1 Carlos Sainz Jr ESP DAMS
2 Norman Nato FRA
3 Sergey Sirotkin RUS Fortec Motorsports
4 Oliver Rowland GBR
5 Pietro Fantin BRZ International Draco Racing
6 Luca Ghiotto ITA
7 Pierre Gasly FRA Arden Motorsport
8 William Buller GBR
9 TBA   Tech 1 Racing
10 Marco Sorensen DEN
11 Will Stevens GBR Strakka Racing
12 Matias Lainé FIN
15 Marlon Stockinger PHI Lotus
16 Matthieu Vaxiviere FRA
17 Jazeman Jaafar MAL ISR
18 TBA  
19 Beitske Visser NED AV Formula
20 Zoel Amberg SWI
21 Roman Mavlanov RUS Zeta Corse
22 Roberto Merhi ESP
23 TBA   Carlin
24 TBA  
25 TBA   Pons Racing
26 Meindert van Buuren NED
27 Nikolay Martsenko RUS Comtec Racing
28 TBA  
Related posts
FIA World RallycrossFormula 4Formula Renault 3.5

#BakkerudLife | Testing FORMULA Cars For The FIRST TIME! Red Bull Ring

1 Mins read
In preparation for his upcoming DTM test, Andreas Bakkerud figured he needed some downforce training, and what better way to do it – than a sunny Red Bull Ring day kind of way.
Formula Renault 3.5Indy Lights

Stoneman in Indy Lights move with Andretti Autosport

1 Mins read
British driver Dean Stoneman will race in Indy Lights in 2016 after joining Andretti Autosport.
Formula Renault 3.5Season Review

2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series Season Review – Rowland’s Year

5 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series season, with a good battle for the championship between Oliver Rowland and Matthieu Vaxiviere.

Leave a Reply