British RallycrossRallycross

British Rallycross Championship Round 2 – Visits the Eurocircuit in Holland

2 Mins read
British Rallycross Championship Round 2

The second round of this years British Championship was held at the renowned Eurocircuit near to Vaulkenswaard in Holland, not far from the Belgian boarder.

The supercar field was the smallest it had been for a while with just three British entries and one Dutch driver. British Champion Julian Godfrey and Dutchman Ron Snoeck battling it out at the front and Steve Harris and Simon Horton behind them. The final ended with a British one, two, three as Snoeck lost out in an incident on the first lap and left himself too much to make up.

British Rallycross Championship Round 2, 2014

Dutchman Ron Snoeck missed out on a podium due to a first lap incident in the final

In the British Supernational Stuart Emery pick up where he left off in the first round with an emphatic win in the final. Mainly due to a first corner incident where Martin Hawkes and Micheal Boak collided which then saw Hawkes spin and meet with the barrier. Boak however didn’t manage to finish pulling up in the last lap. Vincent Bristow claimed second and Gary Dixon third.

The Super 1600 class saw some European hopefuls testing in readiness for the fast approaching RX season opener in Portugal in May. Notably Lithuanian’s Nikita Misiulia and Kasparas Navickas who dominated the heats, definately ones to watch for this coming season. The final required a restart when Dutchman Dennis van Rijn spectacularly crashed out at the first corner. The final result saw Nikita in the top spot with Kasparas in second and Marcel Snoeijers in third best placed Brit was Phil Chicken in fifth spot.

British Rallycross Championship Round 2 April 14th 2014

Dennis van Rijn crashes out on the first corner in the final

The most surprising result was in the Suzuki Swift Sport class where the current top two drivers Graham Rodemark and Tristan Ovenden failed to win a heat! The front row of the final saw Chris Mullen on pole with returning driver Darren Scott second and Kris Fruru third after an action packed trademark final it was Mullen who claimed the win with Tristan Ovenden coming through for second and Darren Scott third.

It was a good day for Craig Lomax but only after a first corner incident with Tomasz Wielgosz which required a restart of the first heat. In the final Craig came in first with David Bell second and Tomasz third.

British Rallycross Championship Round 2 April 14th 2014

Craig Lomax claimed the top spot in Hot Hatch

The RX150 class saw loads of action with some great racing. But it was James Grint who secured pole for the final with Marc Scott second and Richard Moore in third spot. Marc made a supurb start and jumped ahead of James from the start. Eventually making it two wins from two. James came in second with John McGovern coming from the second row of the grid for third.

Along with mixed classes the Dutch championship also has some unique classes. The most extreme of these is the 2CV class, quite something to watch as the drivers appear to be absolutely fearless!

British Rallycross Championship 2014 - Round 2 April 14th


Related posts
FIA World RallycrossOff RoadRallycross

Kristoffersson Wins Controversial Final on Barcelona Day Two

2 Mins read
Johan Kristoffersson has finally broken his Sunday curse and taken a win on a Sunday after a controversial eighth round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship in Barcelona.
FIA World RallycrossOff RoadRallycross

Ekström Takes Top Qualifier on Day Two in Barcelona

4 Mins read
A great recovery after yesterday’s struggles secured Mattias Ekström the Top Qualifier spot in Sunday’s round of the 2020 FIA World Rallycross Championship in Spain.
FIA World RallycrossOff RoadRallycross

Timmy Hansen Takes Stunning Win on Day One in Barcelona

2 Mins read
A great tyre strategy combined with an amazing drive from Timmy Hansen saw him secure his first win of the year in round seven of the FIA World Rallycross Championship in Barcelona.