Formula Renault 3.5

Carlos Sainz on Pole Again in Monza

1 Mins read

DAMS driver Carlos Sainz took pole position for the second consecutive day at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza track. His lap of 1:32.684s was comfortably the best time of the session, with second placed Marlon Stockinger in his Lotus a staggering 0.726s back.

Jazeman Jaafar put the solo ISR entry into third place on the grid, just ahead of Will Buller in the leading Arden Motorsport car. International Draco Racing’s Pietro Fantin grabbed fifth place, while Sauber F1 test driver Sergey Sirotkin put his Fortec Motorsport machine into sixth after qualifying eighteenth for yesterdays race.

Yesterday’s runner-up in the race, Roberto Merhi qualified seventh in his Zeta Corse, just ahead of the second International Draco Racing entry of Luca Ghiotto. The top ten was rounded out by Pierre Gasly’s Arden Motorsport car and Matias Lainé’s Strakka Racing machine.

Lainé’s Strakka team-mate and yesterday’s race winner Will Stevens struggled today and will start fourteenth, just ahead of fellow Briton Oliver Rowland, who once again struggled in qualifying in the second Fortec Motorsport car.

But Sainz, who will be hoping to be able to get off the line this time, having failed to get away from the dummy grid in race one, dominated the session. If he does start from pole, all indications are that the pole will turn into a win.

Monza Race 2 Qualifying Times

1 Carlos Sainz Jr ESP DAMS 1:32.684
2 Marlon Stockinger PHI Lotus 1:33.410
3 Jazeman Jaafar MAL ISR 1:33.557
4 Will Buller GBR Arden Motorsport 1:33.574
5 Pietro Fantin BRZ International Draco Racing 1:33.619
6 Sergey Sirotkin RUS Fortec Motorsport 1:33.620
7 Roberto Merhi ESP Zeta Corse 1:33.649
8 Luca Ghiotto ITA International Draco Racing 1:33.747
9 Pierre Gasly FRA Arden Motorsport 1:33.765
10 Matias Laine FIN Strakka Racing 1:33.839
11 Zoel Amberg SWI AVF 1:33.903
12 Nikolay Martsenko RUS Comtec Racing 1:33.943
13 Norman Nato FRA DAMS 1:34.062
14 Will Stevens GBR Strakka Racing 1:34.145
15 Oliver Rowland GBR Fortec Motorsport 1:34.217
16 Beitske Visser NED AVF 1:34.564
17 Meindert van Buuren NED Pons Racing 1:34.665
18 Roman Mavlanov RUS Zeta Corse 1:34.708
19 Oliver Webb GBR Pons Racing 1:34.714
20 Matthieu Vaxiviere FRA Lotus 1:34.725
21 Marco Sorensen DEN Tech 1 Racing 1:34.489*
*Five Place Grid Penalty
Related posts
FIA World RallycrossFormula 4Formula Renault 3.5

#BakkerudLife | Testing FORMULA Cars For The FIRST TIME! Red Bull Ring

1 Mins read
In preparation for his upcoming DTM test, Andreas Bakkerud figured he needed some downforce training, and what better way to do it – than a sunny Red Bull Ring day kind of way.
Formula Renault 3.5Indy Lights

Stoneman in Indy Lights move with Andretti Autosport

1 Mins read
British driver Dean Stoneman will race in Indy Lights in 2016 after joining Andretti Autosport.
Formula Renault 3.5Season Review

2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series Season Review – Rowland’s Year

5 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series season, with a good battle for the championship between Oliver Rowland and Matthieu Vaxiviere.

Leave a Reply