BRDC Formula 4

David Wagner Returns to MGR for BRDC F4

2 Mins read

Former Formula Renault BARC racer David Wagner will contest the 2014 BRDC Formula 4 Championship with MGR Motorsport. The late deal reunites Wagner with the team which took him to fourth place in the BARC series in 2012. After a year out to concentrate on his studies at Strathclyde University, Wagner is targeting race wins for this year.

Wagner started karting in 2005, taking the Honda Cadet category of the British NKRA Championship. Victories in both the Scottish Open Championship and the West of Scotland Championship in Junior TKM for 2006 and a further title in 2007 in the Junior Blue category of the Scottish Open showed his pace early on, as did the 2007 NKRA Finals win.

2008 saw him crowned British Open champion and he played a starring role in both the KF3 Winter Series and Stars of Tomorrow KF3 Championship. 2009 brought KF2 race wins before he claimed the title of 2010 British Schools Karting Champion.

David has tested the MSV F4-013, taking his first taste at Donington Park in January and coming back for more. Wagner has long been linked with a seat at MGR, though the deal wasn’t struck until long after the media day. He will partner reigning Protyre Formula Renault champion Chris Middlehurst for the season.

“We’re really pleased to work with David again in 2014,” said MGR Team Principal, Mark Godwin. “Despite having a year out of racing in 2013, David was straight on the pace when he drove the F4 car for the first time and has been quick in subsequent tests. David is very professional with his approach to racing and proved highly competitive when he last raced with us in 2012, so I’m confident he could achieve some strong results from the very first event. In Chris and David, we have a very strong driver pairing, which should push each other and the team to the sharp end of the BRDC F4 championship this year.”

Wagner was thrilled to have finalised a deal to return him to racing. He added, “I’m really happy that I’ll be back racing again this year in F4. I’ve loved driving the car in testing. It’s got great aerodynamic and mechanical grip and most importantly, it’s reliable. Last year I watched the championship on TV and the racing looked close and competitive so I’m looking forward to having many battles this year. I’ve raced with MGR before and I developed from a single seater rookie to a race winner and I’m confident I will have a car capable of winning races.”

The announcement means that only six seats are available for the 2014 season. MGR continue to have their third car unconfirmed while Chris Dittman Racing and Sean Walkinshaw Racing are both looking for team mates for their confirmed drivers. Enigma Motorsport, Motionsport and Team KB Sports are all still searching for their only drivers in the series.

Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.

Leave a Reply