GP2 Series

Final Three Drivers Announced for Bahrain GP2 Event

1 Mins read

Briton Jon Lancaster, American Conor Daly and Zimbabwean Axcil Jefferies are the final three names to be confirmed for the upcoming GP2 race weekend in Bahrain.

Lancaster will return to the series with MP Motorsport, whom he tested for on all six days of pre-season testing.  The Brit won two Sunday sprint races during the 2013 GP2 season for Hilmer Motorsport at Silverstone and the Nurburgring.  Lancaster will partner Dutchman Daniel de Jong.

Daly will also return to GP2 with Venezuela GP Lazarus after racing once for Hilmer in 2013 in Malaysia where he finished seventh in the sprint race scoring two points.  He primarily raced in the GP3 series last year and finished third in the championship, and also participated in the Indianapolis 500 in IndyCar for AJ Foyt Enterprises, finishing 22nd.  Daly will be team-mate to French driver Nathanael Berthon.

Jefferies is making his series debut for Trident Racing having raced a couple of rounds in the Indy Lights series in America in 2013 with a best finish of 5th in Houston.  His last full season was in 2012 when he raced in the now defunct Formula 2 championship.  Venezuelan Johnny Cecotto Jr will be Jefferies’ team-mate.

Final GP2 Entry List for Bahrain Weekend

1 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time
2 Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time
3 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin
4 Julian Leal COL Carlin
5 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering
6 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering
7 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS
8 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS
9 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix
10 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix
11 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport
12 Facu Regalia ARG Hilmer Motorsport
14 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax
15 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax
16 Rene Binder AUT Arden International
17 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International
18 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing
19 Alexander Rossi USA EQ8 Caterham Racing
20 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport
21 Jon Lancaster GBR MP Motorsport
22 Axcil Jefferies ZIM Trident Racing
23 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing
24 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus
25 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus
26 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing
27 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing
Related posts
Formula 2GP2 Series

FIA announce GP2 re-branding as FIA Formula 2 Championship

1 Mins read
The FIA Formula 2 Championship has been born following the re-branding of the GP2 Series, starting with the 2017 season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

ART Grand Prix bring Albon into GP2 Series line-up

1 Mins read
Alexander Albon will make the jump from GP3 to GP2 in 2017, remaining with the ART Grand Prix squad he finished second with last season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

Ghiotto joins Markelov at Russian Time for 2017

1 Mins read
Luca Ghiotto will move from Trident to Russian Time in 2017, where he will join Artem Markelov.

Leave a Reply