Formula Renault 3.5

Oliver Rowland Breaks Carlos Sainz’s Pole Run

1 Mins read

Briton Oliver Rowland took his maiden Formula Renault 3.5 series pole position at Motorland Aragon to break the run of Carlos Sainz Jr and DAMS, whom had taken the previous three poles this season. The Fortec Motorsport driver was the only one to dip underneath 1:40s, and his time of 1:39.885 was 0.169s faster than second placed Pietro Fantin of International Draco Racing.

The driver that was Rowland’s main 2013 rival in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 series, Frenchman Pierre Gasly, was third for Arden Motorsport ahead of Strakka Racing’s Will Stevens, who endured a disappointing race one yesterday but seems to be back on form for race two. Sainz ended the session in fifth, and to continue his race winning run will need to show he can overtake as his previous wins have been from pole position.

The sole ISR driver in the field Jazeman Jaafar had a promising session, the Malaysian driver claiming sixth place on the grid, ahead of Sergey Sirotkin in the second Fortec Motorsport entry. The Russian was sixth tenths of a second slower than team-mate Rowland on pole.

The second International Draco Racing entry of Luca Ghiotto was eighth, while Tech 1 Racing’s Marco Sorensen was ninth with AV Formula’s Zoel Amberg rounding out the top ten. Yesterday’s runner-up Nikolay Martsenko had a disappointing session for Comtec Racing, and despite leading the session for a little while qualified a lowly twelfth.

Aragon Race 2 Qualifying Times

1 Oliver Rowland GBR Fortec Motorsport 1:39.885
2 Pietro Fantin BRZ International Draco Racing 1:40.054
3 Pierre Gasly FRA Arden Motorsport 1:40.357
4 Will Stevens GBR Strakka Racing 1:40.375
5 Carlos Sainz Jr ESP DAMS 1:40.457
6 Jazeman Jaafar MAL ISR 1:40.461
7 Sergey Sirotkin RUS Fortec Motorsport 1:40.493
8 Luca Ghiotto ITA International Draco Racing 1:40.573
9 Marco Sorensen DEN Tech 1 Racing 1:40.601
10 Zoel Amberg SWI AVF 1:40.606
11 Matthieu Vaxiviere FRA Lotus 1:40.618
12 Nikolay Martsenko RUS Comtec Racing 1:40.630
13 Will Buller GBR Arden Motorsport 1:40.643
14 Beitske Visser NED AVF 1:40.749
15 Roberto Merhi ESP Zeta Corse 1:40.796
16 Marlon Stockinger PHI Lotus 1:40.852
17 Norman Nato FRA DAMS 1:40.977
18 Oliver Webb GBR Pons Racing 1:40.994
19 Matias Laine FIN Strakka Racing 1:41.015
20 Meindert van Buuren NED Pons Racing 1:41.118
21 Roman Mavlanov RUS Zeta Corse 1:41.888


Related posts
FIA World RallycrossFormula 4Formula Renault 3.5

#BakkerudLife | Testing FORMULA Cars For The FIRST TIME! Red Bull Ring

1 Mins read
In preparation for his upcoming DTM test, Andreas Bakkerud figured he needed some downforce training, and what better way to do it – than a sunny Red Bull Ring day kind of way.
Formula Renault 3.5Indy Lights

Stoneman in Indy Lights move with Andretti Autosport

1 Mins read
British driver Dean Stoneman will race in Indy Lights in 2016 after joining Andretti Autosport.
Formula Renault 3.5Season Review

2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series Season Review – Rowland’s Year

5 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series season, with a good battle for the championship between Oliver Rowland and Matthieu Vaxiviere.

Leave a Reply