Palmer Holds Off Trummer for Sprint Race Win

by Paul Hensby

Briton Jolyon Palmer held off the challenge of Simon Trummer and Julian Leal to clinch the victory in the sprint race at the Bahrain International Circuit.  The DAMS driver overtook the Rapax of Trummer at the turn one at the beginning of lap two and held off the Swiss driver for the remainder of the race.  Colombian Leal finished third for Carlin for the second time of the weekend, and was never off the gearbox of the front two.

The second Carlin of pole-sitter Felipe Nasr had a terrible start and dropped down the field but fought back to finish fourth, overtaking the second Rapax of Adrian Quaife-Hobbs in the closing stages as the Brit began to struggle with his tyres.  The second DAMS car of Stephane Richelmi also overtook Quaife-Hobbs on the final lap to take fifth.

New Zealander Mitch Evans took seventh for Russian Time, while Austrian Rene Binder took advantage of a touch from Richelmi onto the back Arthur Pic to take the final point in eighth in an exciting battle that went right to the wire that involved everyone from Richelmi in fifth, Quaife-Hobbs, Evans, Binder, Pic, Artem Markelov, Daniel de Jong and Takuya Izawa.  There were battles up and down the field as the drivers who could conserve their tyres early in the race put pressure on the ones who didn’t later in the race.

Feature race winner Stoffel Vandoorne of the ART Grand Prix team had a very different race compared to his Saturday triumph, the Belgian finishing a lowly 22nd after breaking his front wing on the back of MP Motorsport’s de Jong early on.  Racing Engineering’s Stefano Coletti did not even get off the line and began the race at the back from the pit lane.  Others to struggle included Raffaele Marciello and Alexander Rossi, who finished 24th and 25th respectively and both were lapped.  The only retirement was that of the second American in the field of Conor Daly, when he stopped his Venezuela GP Lazarus entry in the pits on lap sixteen.

But it was ultimately Palmer’s day, and the British driver leaves Bahrain with the championship.  Trummer will also leave Bahrain a happy driver, having started the feature race on Saturday from the pitlane and grabbing his maiden podium finish on Sunday.

Bahrain Sprint Race Results

1 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS 41m02.484s
2 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax +0.809s
3 Julian Leal COL Carlin +1.430s
4 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin +8.719s
5 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS +16.416s
6 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax +17.680s
7 Mitch Evans NZL Russian Time +18.012s
8 Rene Binder AUT Arden International +19.791s
9 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing +19.977s
10 Artem Markelov RUS Russian Time +20.678s
11 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport +21.086s
12 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix +21.713s
13 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport +29.171s
14 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing +33.500s
15 Jon Lancaster GBR MP Motorsport +34.017s
16 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing +35.778s
17 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus +38.028s
18 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International +38.524s
19 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing +39.439s
20 Facu Regalia ARG Hilmer Motorsport +44.065s
21 Axcil Jefferies ZIM Trident Racing +48.583s
22 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix +49.324s
23 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering +1m20.944s
24 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering +1 Lap
25 Alexander Rossi USA EQ8 Caterham Racing +1 Lap
RET Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus 16 Laps

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More