Sainz Continues Domination with Aragon Victory

Carlos Sainz Jr dominated the first race of the weekend at Motorland Aragon for his second consecutive lights-to-flag victory from pole position. The DAMS driver held off a fast starting Comtec Racing’s Nikolay Martsenko at the first corner and ended the race 14.335s ahead of the Russian driver at the end of the race.

Oliver Rowland finished third for his first Formula Renault 3.5 series podium for Fortec Motorsport, holding off the Lotus of Philippines driver Marlon Stockinger. Both Rowland and Stockinger were forced to work for their positions by Zoel Amberg, who held third for a good portion of the race before both passed the AV Formula driver on lap 13. Amberg eventually finished fifth, holding off two rookies in the form of Roberto Merhi of Zeta Corse and Matthieu Vaxiviere in the second Lotus.

Russian driver Sergey Sirotkin finished down in eighth in the second Fortec Motorsport machine, ahead of Pierre Gasly in the Arden Motorsport machine and Pietro Fantin in the leading International Draco Racing entry. Gasly ran off the track a turn one and damaged his nose, compromising his race.

Will Stevens’ mediocre weekend continue, with the Strakka Racing driver only managing to climb to twelfth after starting fifteenth on the grid. The winner of the opening race at Monza last time out is now twenty-five points behind championship leader Sainz. Martsenko now sits second in the championship, fourteen points behind the Spaniard, with Stockinger in third.

There were two retirements at the end of the opening lap in the form of Pons Racing’s Oliver Webb and Arden Motorsport’s Will Buller.

Aragon Race 1 Result

1 Carlos Sainz Jr ESP DAMS 43m14.984s
2 Nikolay Martsenko RUS Comtec Racing +14.335s
3 Oliver Rowland GBR Fortec Motorsport +24.291s
4 Marlon Stockinger PHI Lotus +24.488s
5 Zoel Amberg SWI AVF +33.825s
6 Roberto Merhi ESP Zeta Corse +34.652s
7 Matthieu Vaxiviere FRA Lotus +34.942s
8 Sergey Sirotkin RUS Fortec Motorsport +37.387s
9 Pierre Gasly FRA Arden Motorsport +38.622s
10 Pietro Fantin BRZ International Draco Racing +42.885s
11 Norman Nato FRA DAMS +43.309s
12 Will Stevens GBR Strakka Racing +46.232s
13 Jazeman Jaafar MAL ISR +48.853s
14 Meindert van Buuren NED Pons Racing +49.922s
15 Marco Sorensen DEN Tech 1 Racing +51.361s
16 Luca Ghiotto ITA International Draco Racing +54.250s
17 Roman Mavlanov RUS Zeta Corse +57.127s
18 Beitske Visser NED AVF +59.760s
19 Matias Laine FIN Strakka Racing +1m05.335s
RET Oliver Webb GBR Pons Racing 1 Lap
RET Will Buller GBR Arden Motorsport 1 Lap