Formula Renault 3.5

Will Buller Fastest in Practice ahead of Aragon Weekend

1 Mins read

British driver Will Buller was fastest on the test day of the Aragon Formula Renault 3.5 Series weekend. The Arden Motorsport driver set a lap time of 1:41.222s just as the chequered flag fell to oust Spaniard Carlos Sainz Jr of DAMS by the merest margin of 0.035s.

Buller’s team-mate Pierre Gasly was third quickest in a session where all twenty-one cars were covered by 1.027s. Zeta Corse driver Roberto Merhi, who surprised many by grabbing a podium finish in Monza two weeks ago, continued his good form by setting the fourth fastest time of the day, just ahead of Nikolay Martsenko in the sole Comtec Racing entry. Comtec, ISR and Tech 1 Racing are still only fielding one car in Aragon like they did in Monza, while Carlin remain absent. It means the field is once again set at 21 cars.

The leading Fortec Motorsport entry of Sergey Sirotkin was sixth fastest, and his lap time was 0.001s slower than that of Martsenko ahead of him. Seventh went to the Lotus of Marlon Stockinger, with Jazeman Jaafar of ISR just behind him in eighth. The top ten was rounded out by Strakka Racing’s Will Stevens, who won the opening race of the season in Monza, and by Oliver Rowland in the second Fortec Motorsport machine.

Stevens had topped the morning session ahead of Gasly and Buller, but all signs point to the weekend being a close-run affair. Qualifying for race one will take place tomorrow morning, with Sainz Jr aiming for three-in-a-row after taking both pole positions in Italy.

Aragon Collective Test Result

1 Will Buller GBR Arden Motorsport 1:41.222
2 Carlos Sainz Jr ESP DAMS 1:41.257
3 Pierre Gasly FRA Arden Motorsport 1:41.280
4 Roberto Merhi ESP Zeta Corse 1:41.303
5 Nikolay Martsenko RUS Comtec Racing 1:41.531
6 Sergey Sirotkin RUS Fortec Motorsport 1:41.532
7 Marlon Stockinger PHI Lotus 1:41.547
8 Jazeman Jaafar MAL ISR 1:41.587
9 Will Stevens GBR Strakka Racing 1:41.605
10 Oliver Rowland GBR Fortec Motorsport 1:41.652
11 Norman Nato FRA DAMS 1:41.671
12 Matthieu Vaxiviere FRA Lotus 1:41.726
13 Zoel Amberg SWI AVF 1:41.814
14 Luca Ghiotto ITA International Draco Racing 1:41.816
15 Marco Sorensen DEN Tech 1 Racing 1:41.825
16 Beitske Visser NED AVF 1:42.079
17 Pietro Fantin BRZ International Draco Racing 1:42.097
18 Oliver Webb GBR Pons Racing 1:42.140
19 Meindert van Buuren NED Pons Racing 1:42.186
20 Roman Mavlanov RUS Zeta Corse 1:42.248
21 Matias Laine FIN Strakka Racing 1:42.249


13752 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
FIA World RallycrossFormula 4Formula Renault 3.5

#BakkerudLife | Testing FORMULA Cars For The FIRST TIME! Red Bull Ring

1 Mins read
In preparation for his upcoming DTM test, Andreas Bakkerud figured he needed some downforce training, and what better way to do it – than a sunny Red Bull Ring day kind of way.
Formula Renault 3.5Indy Lights

Stoneman in Indy Lights move with Andretti Autosport

1 Mins read
British driver Dean Stoneman will race in Indy Lights in 2016 after joining Andretti Autosport.
Formula Renault 3.5Season Review

2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series Season Review – Rowland’s Year

5 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series season, with a good battle for the championship between Oliver Rowland and Matthieu Vaxiviere.