Global Rallycross

2014 Red Bull Global Rallycross Championship: Preview

2 Mins read

2013 saw Toomas ‘Topi’ Heikkinen sweep the Global Rallycross season by storm, for 2014 he has switched his efforts to the FIA World Rallycross Championship in search of a World title. This leaves Tanner Foust a perfect opportunity to take his third GRC championship, the only issue? Ken Block, Brian Deegan and co. might have something to say about that.

Foust enters the 2014 season with an exciting prospect, a new car; unveiled earlier this year, Foust and Scott Speed will be paired up in the Volkswagen Beetle RX, prepared by Andretti Rallycross in an all-out bid for the title.


Unfortunately we will have to wait to see the Beetle on track as they continue to develop the car ready for it’s summer debut, in the mean time Foust and Speed will run with the VW Polo’s, similar to those run by Marklund Motorsport in the World RX (that took fourth and fifth in the opening round).

Block and Deegan lead the Ford charge and will be looking to build on the third and fourth places they took in the 2013 championship. 2006 Junior World Rally Champion Patrik Sandell returns in his Olsbergs MSE Ford (Check out this video) alongside Joni Wiman who took the GRC Lites series by storm in 2013, taking all six victories on his way to the title.

Austin Dyne is another driver making the step up to Supercars after racing the in GRC Lites while Steve Arpin returns in the Ford Fiesta he piloted last year. Nelson Piquet Jr also returns to the series in a Ford run by the newly formed SH Racing team.


Subaru Rally Team USA will be pushing hard this year with Sverre Isachsen and Bucky Lasek who recently shook down their Subaru WRX STi with Travis Pastrana, who returns to the team for selected rounds.

Rhys Millen brings Hyundai back to the series with Emma Gilmour who becomes the first female to take part in GRC.

While he misses the opening round Pat Moro returns with his Chevrolet Sonic along with Sarah Burgess in a second Sonic.

Round 1  – Top Gear Festival, Barbados entry list

# Driver Team
00 Steve Arpin Royal Purple Racing/OMSE2 Ford
07 Nelson Piquet Jr. SH Racing Rallycross Ford
11 Sverre Isachsen Subaru Rally Team USA Subaru
14 Austin Dyne Barracuda Racing Ford
18 Patrik Sandell Olsbergs MSE Ford
27 Emma Gilmour RMR Hyundai
31 Joni Wiman Olsbergs MSE Ford
34 Tanner Foust Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross VW
38 Brian Deegan Rockstar Energy Drink Ford
43 Ken Block Hoonigan Racing Division Ford
67 Rhys Millen RMR Hyundai
77 Scott Speed Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross VW
81 Bucky Lasek Subaru Rally Team USA Subaru
Related posts
Global RallycrossNASCAR Truck SeriesNASCAR Xfinity SeriesStadium SUPER Trucks

Xfinity, Truck Championship Rounds feature SST, X Games experience

6 Mins read
Of the 8 NASCAR Xfinity and Truck drivers fighting for championships this weekend, 3—Sheldon Creed, Zane Smith, and Brett Moffit—have driven a Stadium Super Truck. Creed and Xfinity regular season champ Austin Cindric have also won X Games off-road medals.
Americas Rallycross ChampionshipFMXGlobal RallycrossRallycross

More action sports stars have 'potential' to move into rallycross

3 Mins read
But spiralling costs could put a stop to any big moves
Americas Rallycross ChampionshipGlobal Rallycross

Rhys Millen wants US rallycross return on the right terms

1 Mins read
The motorsports legend is waiting to see how Americas Rallycross develops after its first season

Leave a Reply