GP3 Series

Alex Lynn Strides to Debut Win in GP3 Opener

2 Mins read

Red Bull backed Alex Lynn converted his pole position into a win as the GP3 Series season got underway at the Circuit de Catalunya. The Carlin driver was untroubled throughout and beat Koiranen GP’s Jimmy Eriksson by 2.451s to take maximum points from the feature race.

For Swede Eriksson it was his maiden points finish, as the 2012 German Formula 3 champion endured a difficult season in 2013 with Status Grand Prix. He also became the first Swedish driver to stand on a GP3 Series podium.

New Zealander Richie Stanaway made a good return to single seater racing by taking the third podium place for Status, finishing ahead of Patrick Kujala in his Marussia Manor Racing car, the Finnish driver holding off Marvin Kirchhofer in the leading ART Grand Prix machine throughout the race as the German was forced to cut the first turn while challenging for the lead that resulted in him dropping down behind Kujala.

Dino Zamparelli was sixth in the second ART machine, ahead of fellow Brit Dean Stoneman in the second Marussia Manor Racing car. Eighth and sprint race pole went to Swiss debutant Matheo Tuscher for Jenzer Motorsport, who held off Status Grand Prix’s Nick Yelloly as they raced to the flag. Swiss driver Patric Niederhauser took the final point for Arden International in tenth.

Emil Bernstorff was a notable retirement, when the Carlin driver spun into the gravel trap on a hectic opening lap that also saw the two Trident Racing drivers Victor Carbone and Roman de Beer collide to eliminate them both.

Barcelona Race 1 Result

1 Alex Lynn GBR Carlin 26m36.158s
2 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Koiranen GP +2.451s
3 Richie Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix +10.417s
4 Patrick Kujala FIN Marussia Manor Racing +12.712s
5 Marvin Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix +13.475s
6 Dino Zamparelli GBR ART Grand Prix +16.535s
7 Dean Stoneman GBR Marussia Manor Racing +17.393s
8 Matheo Tuscher SWI Jenzer Motorsport +19.358s
9 Nick Yelloly GBR Status Grand Prix +19.983s
10 Patric Niederhauser SWI Arden International +20.513s
11 Alex Fontana SWI ART Grand Prix +21.088s
12 Pal Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport +27.560s
13 Robert Visoiu ROM Arden International +28.799s
14 Jann Mardenborough GBR Arden International +29.342s
15 Ryan Cullen GBR Marussia Manor Racing +32.313s
16 Luis Sa Silva MAC Carlin +33.359s
17 Nelson Mason CAN Hilmer Motorsport +35.854s
18 Alfonso Celis Jr MEX Status Grand Prix +41.705s
19 Beitske Visser NED Hilmer Motorsport +50.120s
20 Santiago Urrutia URU Koiranen GP +52.602s
21 Denis Nagulin RUS Trident Racing +53.776s
RET Ivan Taranov RUS Hilmer Motorsport 15 Laps
RET Adderly Fong CHN Jenzer Motorsport 4 Laps
RET Emil Bernstorff GBR Carlin 0 Laps
RET Victor Carbone BRZ Trident Racing 0 Laps
RET Roman de Beer RSA Trident Racing 0 Laps
RET Carmen Jorda ESP Koiranen GP 0 Laps


Related posts
GP3 SeriesPorsche Carrera Cup Australia

Joey Mawson set for guest entry for Porsche Carrera Cup Australia

1 Mins read
Upcoming single-seater racer explores sports car options in F1 supporting Porsche Carrera Cup race.
GP3 Series

Giuliano Alesi: "Sometime it Went Good, Sometimes Bad, But I Always Learned From Them"

2 Mins read
Giuliano Alesi looks back on his 2018 GP3 Series, as he prepares for a Formula 2 test this week.
GP3 Series

Ilott Claims Third in GP3 Standings

2 Mins read
Callum Ilott rounds off a strong rookie season in the GP3 Series with third in the championship.

Leave a Reply