GP2 Series

Felipe Nasr finally takes Breakthrough GP2 Win in Spain

2 Mins read

Brazilian Felipe Nasr finally took his first win in the GP2 Series with victory in the sprint race in Spain for Carlin. After two seasons of being close to wins but ultimately missing out, he overtook pole man Tom Dillmann on lap two and withstood the challenge of championship leader Jolyon Palmer to take the victory.

Nasr made an excellent start from sixth on the grid to move into second place before making the move on Dillmann, while Palmer followed through to second on lap five. The DAMS driver challenged Nasr for a few laps but the Brazilian pulled away to win by 7.635s as Palmer suffered with a braking issue.

Dillmann, standing in this weekend for the injured Andre Negrao at Arden International, held on for third place ahead of fellow Frenchman Arthur Pic of Campos Racing and the second Carlin machine of Julian Leal. Yesterday’s race winner Johnny Cecotto Jr was sixth for Trident Racing, while DAMS’ Stephane Richelmi and Racing Engineering’s Stefano Coletti completed the top eight and the points places.

Front-row start Tio Ellinas had a bad start that made a gap for Nasr and Rio Haryanto to go through in the run down to the first corner. Unfortunately for Haryanto, the EQ8 Caterham Racing failed to finish the first lap as he clashed with Palmer resulting in retirement.

Mitch Evans was having a strong race for Russian Time, but while running sixth his tyres went off and he plummeted down the order and out of the points. Team-mate Artem Markelov has been hit with a five-place grid-drop penalty for the Monaco feature race after being found guilty of causing a needless crash with Rapax driver Simon Trummer that eliminated both drivers on the second lap.

Barcelona Sprint Race Result

1 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin 42m01.901s
2 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS +7.635s
3 Tom Dillmann FRA Arden International +13.814s
4 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing +14.172s
5 Julian Leal COL Carlin +14.732s
6 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing +18.842s
7 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS +19.236s
8 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering +22.993s
9 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax +30.744s
10 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix +31.379s
11 Tio Ellinas CYP MP Motorsport +31.839s
12 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport +32.142s
13 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix +33.313s
14 Alexander Rossi USA EQ8 Caterham Racing +34.189s
15 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing +37.025s
16 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering +38.689s
17 Facu Regalia ARG Hilmer Motorsport +39.975s
18 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing +44.122s
19 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport +1m14.656s
20 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time +2 Laps
RET Rene Binder AUT Arden International 2 Laps
RET Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus 2 Laps
RET Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time 2 Laps
RET Simon Trummer SWI Rapax 1 Lap
RET Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1 Lap
RET Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing 0 Laps


Related posts
Formula 2GP2 Series

FIA announce GP2 re-branding as FIA Formula 2 Championship

1 Mins read
The FIA Formula 2 Championship has been born following the re-branding of the GP2 Series, starting with the 2017 season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

ART Grand Prix bring Albon into GP2 Series line-up

1 Mins read
Alexander Albon will make the jump from GP3 to GP2 in 2017, remaining with the ART Grand Prix squad he finished second with last season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

Ghiotto joins Markelov at Russian Time for 2017

1 Mins read
Luca Ghiotto will move from Trident to Russian Time in 2017, where he will join Artem Markelov.

Leave a Reply