Home Win for Richelmi in Monte Carlo Sprint Race

Stephane Richelmi took his maiden GP2 Series victory in his home race as he converted his Sprint race pole position into the win. The Monegasque driver held off the challenge of Trident Racing’s Spanish driver Sergio Canamasas to win by 2.179s at the flag.

Richelmi initially had to hold off the EQ8 Caterham Racing machine of Rio Haryanto at the start.   Haryanto pulled alongside the DAMS driver in the run down to the first corner, but knowing two into one doesn’t go, the Indonesian driver was forced to back out of it, which allowed Canamasas to overtake him.

Canamasas remained on the tail of the DAMS driver but could not find a way through, and even the introduction of the safety car on lap twelve to rescue the stranded Russian Time machine of Artem Markelov at Beau Rivage could not stop Richelmi as he mastered the restart and held on to first place until the chequered flag. For Canamasas it was his best result in his GP2 Series career to date, beating the fifth place he took in the feature race on Friday.

Haryanto held onto third for his first podium of the season, finishing over eight seconds back, but comfortably clear of fourth placed Johnny Cecotto Jr in the second Trident car, who held off a long train of cars as he struggled with his tyres in the closing stages. In fact from Cecotto in fourth to the Hilmer Motorsport machine of Facu Regalia in 21st, there were only 10.758s at the flag.

Arthur Pic was fifth for Campos Racing, his fifth points scoring finish in six rounds, while Mitch Evans finished sixth for Russian Time, the first time in four races the New Zealander has not finished on the podium in Monaco. Championship leader Jolyon Palmer was seventh in the second DAMS car, while Rapax driver Adrian Quaife-Hobbs was eighth and took the final point. Stefano Coletti finished ninth for Racing Engineering after a good fight through the field but could only take away the two points for fastest lap despite his strong pace all weekend.

Feature race podium finisher Felipe Nasr retired on the opening lap with an apparent puncture putting the Carlin driver into the Mirabeau wall. Palmer now leads the championship from Nasr by 103 points to 57, with Cecotto in third place on 49 points. The next rounds are in Spielberg, Austria on the weekend of the 20th-22nd of June.

Monaco Sprint Race Result

1 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS 43m17.087s
2 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing +2.179s
3 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing +8.295s
4 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing +25.320s
5 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing +25.753s
6 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time +25.973s
7 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS +26.587s
8 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax +26.956s
9 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering +28.473s
10 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus +28.721s
11 Alexander Rossi USA EQ8 Caterham Racing +29.987s
12 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus +30.105s
13 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix +30.604s
14 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing +31.228s
15 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International +31.657s
16 Julian Leal COL Carlin +32.085s
17 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport +32.582s
18 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax +33.458s
19 Raffaele Marciello ESP Racing Engineering +34.328s
20 Rene Binder AUT Arden International +35.417s
21 Facu Regalia ARG Hilmer Motorsport +36.078s
22 Tio Ellinas CYP MP Motorsport +1 Lap
RET Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time 12 Laps
RET Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix 11 Laps
RET Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport 2 Laps
RET Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin 0 Laps