GP2 Series

Jolyon Palmer Fastest in Practice as Felipe Nasr Crashes

1 Mins read

Briton Jolyon Palmer continued his excellent 2014 form by posting the fastest time in the free practice session ahead of this weekends Monaco GP2 Series weekend. The DAMS driver was fastest by over three-tenths of a second from Spain feature race winner Johnny Cecotto Jr of Trident Racing.

Unfortunately for the Barcelona Sprint race winner Felipe Nasr, he caused the session to be stopped when he crashed coming out of the Nouvelle Chicane next to the harbour. Nathanael Berthon also ended his session early with a trip into the barriers.

Palmer’s DAMS team-mate Stephane Richelmi, who took pole position for the Spanish Feature race was third fastest, confirming that the DAMS team are the ones to beat this weekend. Fellow Monegasque driver Stefano Coletti was fourth fastest for Racing Engineering.

Mitch Evans was fifth for Russian Time despite damaging his front wing in an incident with the returning Andre Negrao of Arden International at La Rascasse. Sergio Canamasas was sixth for Trident Racing, ahead of Rio Haryanto in the leading EQ8 Caterham Racing machine. Nasr ended eighth ahead of Carlin team-mate Julian Leal, while Alexander Rossi was tenth for Caterham.

Monaco Free Practice Times

1 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS 1:20.707
2 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing 1:21.043
3 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS 1:21.573
4 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering 1:21.902
5 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time 1:21.929
6 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing 1:21.933
7 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:21.935
8 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin 1:21.949
9 Julian Leal COL Carlin 1:22.132
10 Alexander Rossi USA EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:22.183
11 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax 1:22.237
12 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport 1:22.296
13 Rene Binder AUT Arden International 1:22.386
14 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix 1:22.442
15 Raffaele Marciello ESP Racing Engineering 1:22.937
16 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International 1:23.028
17 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing 1:23.353
18 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing 1:23.453
19 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax 1:23.545
20 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport 1:23.605
21 Facu Regalia ARG Hilmer Motorsport 1:23.821
22 Tio Ellinas CYP MP Motorsport 1:24.126
23 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix 1:24.201
24 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:25.356
25 Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time 1:25.694
26 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus No Time
Related posts
Formula 2GP2 Series

FIA announce GP2 re-branding as FIA Formula 2 Championship

1 Mins read
The FIA Formula 2 Championship has been born following the re-branding of the GP2 Series, starting with the 2017 season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

ART Grand Prix bring Albon into GP2 Series line-up

1 Mins read
Alexander Albon will make the jump from GP3 to GP2 in 2017, remaining with the ART Grand Prix squad he finished second with last season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

Ghiotto joins Markelov at Russian Time for 2017

1 Mins read
Luca Ghiotto will move from Trident to Russian Time in 2017, where he will join Artem Markelov.

Leave a Reply