Global Rallycross

Piquet Jr. Tops GRC Barbados Qualifying Session

1 Mins read

Nelson Piquet Jr. topped the times for the first qualifying session of the 2014 Red Bull Global Rallycross Championship season at this weekend’s Top Gear Festival Barbados event.

Driving the SH Racing Rallycross Ford Fiesta ST, Piquet Jr posted a lap of 43.248s on the ‘Joker Lap’ format of the circuit, finishing ahead of the two Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross VW Polo’s of Scott Speed and Tanner Foust.

Early pace-setters Joni Wilman and Ken Block finished the session in fourth and fifth ahead of Austin Dyne in the Barracuda Racing Ford Fiesta ST; Rhys Millen managed to get put his Hyundai Velostar in to seventh place ahead of Steve Arpin and Brian Deegan.

Sverre Isachsen took his Subaru Rally Team USA WRX STi to tenth with Patrik Sandell and Emma Gilmour rounding out the times.

Bucky Lasek failed to set a time after catching a little too much air in practice, “Going big today makes for an awesome photo but cost me dearly in practice time. Did some front end damage on the landing that really upset the balance of the car” said Lasek on his Instagram account.

Red Bull GRC – Round 1 – Barbados – Qualifying Times

1 07 Nelson Piquet Jr. SH Racing Rallycross 43.248
2 77 Scott Speed Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross 43.391
3 34 Tanner Foust Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross 43.999
4 31 Joni Wiman Olsbergs MSE 44.148
5 43 Ken Block Hoonigan Racing Division 44.302
6 14 Austin Dyne Barracuda Racing 44.335
7 67 Rhys Millen Rhys Millen Racing 44.715
8 00 Steve Arpin Royal Purple Racing/OMSE2 44.870
9 38 Brian Deegan Rockstar Energy Drink 45.206
10 11 Sverre Isachsen Subaru Rally Team USA 45.225
11 18 Patrik Sandell Olsbergs MSE 45.339
12 27 Emma Gilmour Rhys Millen Racing 45.983
13 81 Bucky Lasek Subaru Rally Team USA N/A
Related posts
Global RallycrossNASCAR Truck SeriesNASCAR Xfinity SeriesStadium SUPER Trucks

Xfinity, Truck Championship Rounds feature SST, X Games experience

6 Mins read
Of the 8 NASCAR Xfinity and Truck drivers fighting for championships this weekend, 3—Sheldon Creed, Zane Smith, and Brett Moffit—have driven a Stadium Super Truck. Creed and Xfinity regular season champ Austin Cindric have also won X Games off-road medals.
Americas Rallycross ChampionshipFMXGlobal RallycrossRallycross

More action sports stars have 'potential' to move into rallycross

3 Mins read
But spiralling costs could put a stop to any big moves
Americas Rallycross ChampionshipGlobal Rallycross

Rhys Millen wants US rallycross return on the right terms

1 Mins read
The motorsports legend is waiting to see how Americas Rallycross develops after its first season

Leave a Reply