GP3 Series

Rookies lead the way as Lynn takes Pole in Spain

1 Mins read

Red Bull-backed Alex Lynn took the first pole position of the GP3 Series season in Spain. The Carlin driver topped the timing screens for the first time at the end of the session to demote ART Grand Prix driver and fellow series rookie Marvin Kirchhofer into second.

Lynn had spent most of the session in the midfield but the Brit, who was quick all through pre-season testing set a lap time of 1:35.614s to beat 2013 German Formula 3 champion Kirchhofer by 0.112s.

Richie Stanaway will start race one from third place on the grid; the Status Grand Prix driver following up his pacesetting run in practice with a strong qualifying effort. Swede Jimmy Eriksson qualified fourth in the leading Koiranen GP entry, ahead of Patrick Kujala in the leading Marussia Manor Racing machine.

Dino Zamparelli qualified the second ART Grand Prix machine in sixth, ahead of the second Carlin car of Emil Bernstorff. The third and final ART car will start eighth in the hands of Alex Fontana. Jenzer Motorsport drivers Pal Varhaug and Matheo Tuscher will start side-by-side on row five.

There was a penalty applied to Hilmer Motorsport’s debutant Nelson Mason, who qualified down in 20th but has been given a three-place grid drop penalty for his car not having its tyre valves fitted during the free-practice session last night.

Barcelona Qualifying Result

1 Alex Lynn GBR Carlin 1:35.614
2 Marvin Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix 1:35.726
3 Richie Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix 1:35.784
4 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Koiranen GP 1:35.904
5 Patrick Kujala FIN Marussia Manor Racing 1:35.970
6 Dino Zamparelli GBR ART Grand Prix 1:36.015
7 Emil Bernstorff GBR Carlin 1:36.136
8 Alex Fontana SWI ART Grand Prix 1:36.151
9 Pal Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport 1:36.165
10 Matheo Tuscher SWI Jenzer Motorsport 1:36.210
11 Nick Yelloly GBR Status Grand Prix 1:36.230
12 Patric Niederhauser SWI Arden International 1:36.276
13 Dean Stoneman GBR Marussia Manor Racing 1:36.375
14 Roman de Beer RSA Trident Racing 1:36.579
15 Robert Visoiu ROM Arden International 1:36.711
16 Ryan Cullen GBR Marussia Manor Racing 1:36.759
17 Adderly Fong CHN Jenzer Motorsport 1:36.787
18 Jann Mardenborough GBR Arden International 1:36.871
19 Victor Carbone BRZ Trident Racing 1:37.023
20 Nelson Mason CAN Hilmer Motorsport 1:37.084
21 Luis Sa Silva MAC Carlin 1:37.163
22 Santiago Urrutia URU Koiranen GP 1:37.166
23 Alfonso Celis Jr MEX Status Grand Prix 1:37.300
24 Beitske Visser NED Hilmer Motorsport 1:37.406
25 Ivan Taranov RUS Hilmer Motorsport 1:38.071
26 Denis Nagulin RUS Trident Racing 1:38.203
27 Carmen Jorda ESP Koiranen GP 1:38.694


Related posts
GP3 SeriesPorsche Carrera Cup Australia

Joey Mawson set for guest entry for Porsche Carrera Cup Australia

1 Mins read
Upcoming single-seater racer explores sports car options in F1 supporting Porsche Carrera Cup race.
GP3 Series

Giuliano Alesi: "Sometime it Went Good, Sometimes Bad, But I Always Learned From Them"

2 Mins read
Giuliano Alesi looks back on his 2018 GP3 Series, as he prepares for a Formula 2 test this week.
GP3 Series

Ilott Claims Third in GP3 Standings

2 Mins read
Callum Ilott rounds off a strong rookie season in the GP3 Series with third in the championship.

Leave a Reply