Alex Lynn Fastest as GP3 Hits the Track in Austria

Red Bull backed Alex Lynn continued his strong start to the 2014 GP3 Series season by setting the fastest time of the free practice session ahead of this weekends rounds in Austria. The Briton was 0.587s clear of the field, with Carlin team-mate and fellow Briton Emil Bernstorff leading the chasing pack in second.

Behind the two Carlin entries was Nick Yelloly in the leading Status Grand Prix machine, who was only 0.007s slower than Bernstorff in a closely packed field. Uruguayan Santiago Urrutia was fourth for Koiranen GP, ahead of series debutant Riccardo Agostini for Hilmer Motorsport, who was impressive in his first time in a GP3 car.

Agostini’s Hilmer team-mate Nelson Mason was also impressive as he logged the sixth fastest time, while Finnish driver Patrick Kujala was the quickest of the Marussia Manor Racing drivers in seventh. Romanian Robert Visoiu likewise was the quickest Arden International driver in eighth, while Alfonso Celis Jr for Status Grand Prix and Dino Zamparelli for ART Grand Prix rounded out the top ten.

The session was halted for a brief period to clear up a crash for Trident Racing’s South African racer Roman de Beer, who spun into the pit wall while exiting the final corner. He emerged unscathed and ended the session down in twenty-fourth place. Only 26 drivers are racing in Austria, with Trident only fielding two cars for de Beer and Victor Carbone.

Qualifying for race one takes place tomorrow morning, with the race following later in the afternoon. Race two takes place on Sunday.

Red Bull Ring Practice Result

1 Alex Lynn GBR Carlin 1:20.538
2 Emil Bernstorff GBR Carlin 1:21.125
3 Nick Yelloly GBR Status Grand Prix 1:21.132
4 Santiago Urrutia URU Koiranen GP 1:21.287
5 Riccardo Agostini ITA Hilmer Motorsport 1:21.351
6 Nelson Mason CAN Hilmer Motorsport 1:21.371
7 Patrick Kujala FIN Marussia Manor Racing 1:21.390
8 Robert Visoiu ROM Arden International 1:21.411
9 Alfonso Celis Jr MEX Status Grand Prix 1:21.460
10 Dino Zamparelli GBR ART Grand Prix 1:21.473
11 Matheo Tuscher SWI Jenzer Motorsport 1:21.481
12 Dean Stoneman GBR Marussia Manor Racing 1:21.497
13 Marvin Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix 1:21.548
14 Patric Niederhauser SWI Arden International 1:21.658
15 Jann Mardenborough GBR Arden International 1:21.905
16 Richie Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix 1:21.952
17 Alex Fontana SWI ART Grand Prix 1:21.953
18 Luis Sa Silva MAC Carlin 1:22.026
19 Pal Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport 1:22.269
20 Adderly Fong CHN Jenzer Motorsport 1:22.295
21 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Koiranen GP 1:23.021
22 Nikolay Martsenko RUS Hilmer Motorsport 1:23.403
23 Ryan Cullen GBR Marussia Manor Racing 1:23.656
24 Roman de Beer RSA Trident Racing 1:23.902
25 Victor Carbone BRZ Trident Racing 1:24.462
26 Carmen Jorda ESP Koiranen GP 1:24.687