Bernstorff Continues Carlin Domination at Spielberg

Anglo-Danish driver Emil Bernstorff took his maiden GP3 Series win in race two at the Red Bull Ring to make it two from two for Carlin after Alex Lynn’s victory in race one.

Bernstorff took advantage of a crash between pole sitter Luis Sa Silva and Matheo Tuscher’s Jenzer Motorsport to take the lead on lap two, and never looked back to win by 7.793s from Swedish Koiranen GP driver Jimmy Eriksson, who overtook Richie Stanaway a few laps from the end after the New Zealander struggled with tyre wear.

Stanaway retained the final place on the podium, keeping the impressive Roman de Beer for Trident Racing behind him as the South African stormed through to fourth, including a great move on Stanaway’s Status Grand Prix team-mate Nick Yelloly on the penultimate lap into turn three.

Patric Niederhauser took sixth for Arden International and made a great overtaking move of his own around the outside of Marussia Manor Racing’s Finnish driver Patrick Kujala into turn one. Kujala and ART Grand Prix’s Dino Zamparelli completed the points scoring positions in seventh and eighth.

Championship lead Lynn was forced into the pits at the end of the first lap and eventually was classified down in twentieth, and like in Barcelona followed a dominant win with a non-points scoring race two.

Jann Mardenborough was on course for his first points in the series while running sixth for Arden International but spun out at turn seven on lap seven, ending his race in the barriers.  ART Grand Prix’s Marvin Kirchhofer was due to start from fourth on the grid but was stalled on the grid and forcing the German into retirement before the lights went out.

Red Bull Ring Race 2 Result

1 Emil Bernstorff GBR Carlin 23m24.023s
2 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Koiranen GP +7.793s
3 Richie Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix +11.891s
4 Roman de Beer RSA Trident Racing +12.336s
5 Nick Yelloly GBR Status Grand Prix +12.985s
6 Patric Niederhauser SWI Arden International +13.423s
7 Patrick Kujala FIN Marussia Manor Racing +16.947s
8 Dino Zamparelli GBR ART Grand Prix +19.196s
9 Pal Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport +19.701s
10 Dean Stoneman GBR Marussia Manor Racing +21.213s
11 Riccardo Agostini ITA Hilmer Motorsport +21.551s
12 Santiago Urrutia URU Koiranen GP +23.846s
13 Ryan Cullen GBR Marussia Manor Racing +24.676s
14 Robert Visoiu ROM Arden International +25.503s
15 Adderly Fong CHN Jenzer Motorsport +26.670s
16 Nelson Mason CAN Hilmer Motorsport +27.382s
17 Alex Fontana SWI ART Grand Prix +30.742s
18 Victor Carbone BRZ Trident Racing +33.153s
19 Alfonso Celis Jr MEX Status Grand Prix +37.441s
20 Alex Lynn GBR Carlin +57.946s
21 Carmen Jorda ESP Koiranen GP +1m11.813s
22 Luis Sa Silva MAC Carlin +1 Lap
DNF Jann Mardenborough GBR Arden International 7 Laps
DNF Matheo Tuscher SWI Jenzer Motorsport 1 Lap
DNS Nikolay Martsenko RUS Hilmer Motorsport 0 Laps
DNS Marvin Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix 0 Laps