Cecotto Wins Exciting GP2 Sprint Race in Austria

Trident Racing’s Johnny Cecotto Jr held off the challenge of Stefano Coletti to take his second win of the season in an exciting GP2 Series Sprint Race in Austria. The Venezuelan made a good start from third on the grid to jump into the lead into the first corner ahead of the slow starting Alexander Rossi and Mitch Evans.

Cecotto first managed to hold off the challenge of Ferrari junior driver Raffaele Marciello, who had climbed up to second by passing team-mate Coletti and Rossi before tyre issues caused him to lose some pace, and then from Coletti as the Monegasque driver conserved his tyres better. Coletti re-passed his team-mate and was closing on Cecotto but ran out of laps to make a move for the win.

Marciello held onto third after a good battle with Russian Time machine of Evans over the closing stages, the two swapping places a few times. EQ8 Caterham Racing’s Rossi dropped to fifth after starting on pole position, but stayed ahead of championship leader Jolyon Palmer who finished sixth for DAMS, having overtaken Carlin’s Julian Leal for that spot a few laps from the end. ART Grand Prix’s Takuya Izawa took the final point on offer in eighth.

There was only one retirement in the race, and it was a big one. Felipe Nasr was caught up in a battle in turn two on the opening lap and damaged the front wing of his Carlin machine. He remained on track but was told to pit by the stewards as they deemed the wing damage to be dangerous. He replaced the front wing but was unable to leave the pits when his clutch broke.

Nasr’s retirement and Palmer’s sixth place means the DAMS driver’s championship lead has extended to 33 points.   Cecotto is now a clear third in the championship a further eight points back.

Red Bull Ring Sprint Race Result

1 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing 36m14.395s
2 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering +0.742s
3 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering +6.813s
4 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time +7.139s
5 Alexander Rossi USA EQ8 Caterham Racing +7.990s
6 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS +8.828s
7 Julian Leal COL Carlin +9.317s
8 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix +19.410s
9 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing +26.716s
10 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS +27.062s
11 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus +27.625s
12 Rene Binder AUT Arden International +28.381s
13 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing +28.861s
14 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International +30.084s
15 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix +30.446s
16 Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time +32.025s
17 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing +36.046s
18 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax +37.139s
19 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing +37.901s
20 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax +42.508s
21 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport +43.754s
22 Tio Ellinas CYP MP Motorsport +45.236s
23 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport +45.606s
24 Facu Regalia ARG Hilmer Motorsport +46.924s
25 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus +50.361s
DNF Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin 2 Laps