Lynn Leads Bernstorff to Carlin 1-2 in Austria

Briton Alex Lynn took his second GP3 Series victory of the season as he lead from start to finish in Austria. He led home a Carlin one-two with fellow Brit Emil Bernstorff taking his maiden series podium in second.

Red Bull junior Lynn made an excellent start to lead from pole position, but fellow front row start Alex Fontana made a bad start and ended up colliding with the Marussia Manor Racing machine of Patrick Kujala that caused the ART Grand Prix driver crashing into Kujala’s team-mate Dean Stoneman that eliminated them both. Arden International’s Romanian driver Robert Visoiu was unable to avoid Stoneman’s car and also ended his race on the first lap, and the mess caused by the crash necessitated the use of the safety car.

Behind the two Carlin drivers the podium was completed by Swede Jimmy Eriksson for Koiranen GP, who passed the Status Grand Prix machine of Kiwi Richie Stanaway after the New Zealander made a mistake at turn eight just as the safety car went into the pits.

Stanaway held onto fourth ahead of ART Grand Prix’s Marvin Kirchhofer, with Swiss driver Matheo Tuscher sixth for Jenzer Motorsport. Nick Yelloly was seventh for Status, while Carlin’s impressive day continued with Luis Sa Silva taking eighth and reverse grid pole for tomorrows second race.

Kujala survived the opening lap ambush by Fontana to take two points for ninth, while the final point went to Patric Niederhauser for Arden International. Fontana was penalised for the start line crash after the race and was handed a five place grid-drop penalty, but due to the fact he would have started near the back of the field anyway, he will be forced to start from the pit lane, as will Alfonso Celis Jr for Status Grand Prix for causing a crash with Adderly Fong of Jenzer Motorsport.

Red Bull Ring Race 1 Result

1 Alex Lynn GBR Carlin 25m50.556s
2 Emil Bernstorff GBR Carlin +2.764s
3 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Koiranen GP +8.385s
4 Richie Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix +10.309s
5 Marvin Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix +10.958s
6 Matheo Tuscher SWI Jenzer Motorsport +12.128s
7 Nick Yelloly GBR Status Grand Prix +12.597s
8 Luis Sa Silva MAC Carlin +16.707s
9 Patrick Kujala FIN Marussia Manor Racing +17.647s
10 Patric Niederhauser SWI Arden International +18.434s
11 Jann Mardenborough GBR Arden International +18.845s
12 Roman de Beer RSA Trident Racing +19.474s
13 Pal Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport +19.979s
14 Nelson Mason CAN Hilmer Motorsport +20.252s
15 Dino Zamparelli GBR ART Grand Prix +24.748s
16 Santiago Urrutia URU Koiranen GP +25.285s
17 Ryan Cullen GBR Marussia Manor Racing +34.407s
18 Victor Carbone BRZ Trident Racing +34.896s
19 Nikolay Martsenko RUS Hilmer Motorsport +39.069s
20 Carmen Jorda ESP Koiranen GP +58.532s
RET Ricciardo Agostini ITA Hilmer Motorsport 9 Laps
RET Adderly Fong CHN Jenzer Motorsport 5 Laps
RET Alfonso Celis Jr MEX Status Grand Prix 5 Laps
RET Alex Fontana SWI ART Grand Prix 0 Laps
RET Dean Stoneman GBR Marussia Manor Racing 0 Laps
RET Robert Visoiu ROM Arden International 0 Laps