Lynn Takes GP3 Pole in Tight Austria Showdown

Briton Alex Lynn took his second consecutive pole position as he secured the fastest time for this weekends GP3 Series round in Austria. The Red Bull backed Carlin driver’s time of 1:20.585s was enough to see off the challenge of Swiss driver Alex Fontana for ART Grand Prix, who finished only 0.023s behind in second.

Lynn’s first effort was thwarted by a mistake at turn one that saw him go wide, while his final lap was disrupted by catching Dean Stoneman while the Briton was entering the pit lane at turn eight in his Marussia Manor Racing machine.

Barcelona Race two winner Stoneman will start this afternoon’s race from third on the grid, and was only 0.079s away from the pace setting time of Lynn. Emil Bernstorff confirmed Carlin’s strong pace this weekend by setting the fourth fastest time of the session to join his fellow Brit Stoneman on the second row.

The second Marussia Manor Racing machine of Patick Kujala was fifth just ahead of the leading Koiranen GP entry of Swedish driver Jimmy Eriksson. 2013 German Formula 3 Champion Marvin Kirchhofer will start seventh in the second ART Grand Prix machine, ahead of two of the three Status Grand Prix cars of New Zealander Richie Stanaway and Briton Nick Yelloly, while Carlin’s third driver Luis Sa Silva completed the top ten.

The two debutants for Hilmer Motorsport had mixed results in qualifying, with Italian Riccardo Agostini, making his debut after leaving the FIA European Formula 3 Championship, up in eleventh but his Russian team-mate Nikolay Martsenko, having lost his Formula Renault 3.5 Series drive, was only twenty-fourth fastest.

Alfonso Celis Jr qualified twentieth in the third Status Grand Prix car but will drop five places on the grid from a penalty brought over from causing a collision with the Jenzer Motorsport machine of Pal Varhaug in Spain.

Red Bull Ring Qualifying Result

1 Alex Lynn GBR Carlin 1:20.585
2 Alex Fontana SWI ART Grand Prix 1:20.608
3 Dean Stoneman GBR Marussia Manor Racing 1:20.644
4 Emil Bernstorff GBR Carlin 1:20.693
5 Patrick Kujala FIN Marussia Manor Racing 1:20.744
6 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Koiranen GP 1:20.797
7 Marvin Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix 1:20.863
8 Richie Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix 1:20.974
9 Nick Yelloly GBR Status Grand Prix 1:21.071
10 Luis Sa Silva MAC Carlin 1:21.142
11 Riccardo Agostini ITA Hilmer Motorsport 1:21.149
12 Dino Zamparelli GBR ART Grand Prix 1:21.168
13 Nelson Mason CAN Hilmer Motorsport 1:21.193
14 Matheo Tuscher SWI Jenzer Motorsport 1:21.225
15 Jann Mardenborough GBR Arden International 1:21.227
16 Patric Niederhauser SWI Arden International 1:21.236
17 Robert Visoiu ROM Arden International 1:21.309
18 Santiago Urrutia URU Koiranen GP 1:21.382
19 Roman de Beer RSA Trident Racing 1:21.491
20 Alfonso Celis Jr MEX Status Grand Prix 1:21.591
21 Pal Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport 1:21.654
22 Adderly Fong CHN Jenzer Motorsport 1:21.908
23 Victor Carbone BRZ Trident Racing 1:22.125
24 Nikolay Martsenko RUS Hilmer Motorsport 1:22.171
25 Ryan Cullen GBR Marussia Manor Racing 1:22.259
26 Carmen Jorda ESP Koiranen GP 1:23.802