Norris Claims First Ginetta Win

Lando Norris won an excitement filled Ginetta Junior Championship race from Jack Mitchell at Croft.

Norris led from pole into the first corner followed initially by Jamie Chadwick and championship leader Mitchell.

Chadwick’s charge for the lead didn’t last long though. The JHR Developments driver ran wide out of turn one and went over the kerb which resulted in a spin, leaving Chadwick towards the back of the grid.

Mitchell was able to stay with Norris throughout the race but couldn’t find away past the 14-year-old.

Dan Zelos claimed third after staying out of trouble ahead of a tough battle in the midfield.

Ben Pearson, Senna Proctor, Ryan Hadfield, Jonathan Hadfield; Jamie Caroline and Jack Rawles were all embroiled in a huge battle for position.

Hadfield (Jonathan), had an altercation with Caroline coming out of the hairpin as the two drivers pushed each other on to the grass, which allowed others to move up.

There was also a number of drivers spinning out on track.

The HHC Motorsport of William Taylforth lost it coming out of the Jim Clarke Esses and beached his car in the long grass which forced him to retire.

Billy Monger spun in the opening laps; Hadfield (Ryan) spun the car round going into sunny and Tom Parker lost control going into turn one on the first lap.

Round 9 winner James Kellett took to the pitlane before the race began complaining of ‘odd steering’. This meant Norris was the only driver on the front row of the grid.

HHC Motorsport eventually fixed Kellett’s problem and he rejoined a lap down.