Pommer and Sato Share Imola Practice Honours

The two driver sitting first and second in the Auto GP World Series championship standings shared the two practice sessions ahead of this weekends round at the Imola circuit in Italy.

Second placed Markus Pommer of Super Nova International was fastest in the morning session, while Championship leader Kimiya Sato, on his return to the series after missing the last round at Monza, topped the times in the afternoon for Euronova Racing.

Pommer’s best time of 1:32.380s in the opening session was enough to see him end the session on top, just under four tenths of a second ahead of Sato. Italian female racer Michela Cerruti was third in the second Super Nova entry, ahead of another Italian in the form of Kevin Giovesi of Eurotech Engineering, while series returnee Pal Varhaug of Virtuosi UK completed the top five.

In the second session, it was Sato’s turn to top the session, setting a best lap time of 1:32.349s, which was 0.052s clear of Pommer. Giovesi moved up to third ahead of Varhaug, with Cerruti down in fifth.

Thirteen drivers participated in the two sessions, including 2013 champion Vittorio Ghirelli making his second appearance of the season (and first for Eurotech Engineering), and series debutant Salvatore de Plano of Euronova Racing.

Two drivers on the entry list did not appear – Samin Gomez was absent for Zele Racing, while Loris Spinelli, who has raced in every race so far in 2014, was missing for Eurotech Engineering.

Imola Combined Practice Times

1 Kimiya Sato JAP Euronova Racing 1:32.349
2 Markus Pommer GER Super Nova International 1:32.380
3 Kevin Giovesi ITA Eurotech Engineering 1:32.728
4 Michela Cerruti ITA Super Nova International 1:33.237
5 Pal Varhaug NOR Virtuosi UK 1:33.330
6 Andrea Roda ITA Virtuosi UK 1:33.539
7 Christof von Grunigen SWI Zele Racing 1:33.873
8 Francesco Dracone ITA Super Nova International 1:34.185
9 Vittorio Ghirelli ITA Eurotech Engineering 1:34.473
10 Michele La Rosa ITA MLR71 by Euronova 1:34.684
11 Giuseppe Cipriani ITA Ibiza Racing 1:34.727
12 Tamas Pal Kiss HUN Zele Racing 1:35.254
13 Salvatore de Plano ITA Euronova Racing 1:39.757