Russian Tests see Stevens and Sirotkin On Top

Round five of the 2014 Formula Renault 3.5 Series has begun at the Moscow Raceway in Russia, and has seen Briton Will Stevens and Russian Sergey Sirotkin top the collective test sessions.

Stevens of Strakka Racing was fastest in the first session with a best lap time of 1:21.961s, finishing ahead of New Zealander Richie Stanaway of Lotus. Norman Nato and Carlos Sainz Jr were third and fourth respectively for DAMS, with Pierre Gasly fifth for Arden Motorsport.

Sirotkin was sixth for Fortec Motorsports ahead of his team-mate Oliver Rowland, while Pietro Fantin was the leading International Draco Racing driver in eighth. Stevens’ Strakka team-mate Matias Lainé was ninth with Roberto Merhi tenth for Zeta Corse.

The second session was considerably faster than the first as the track rubbered in, and it was Sirotkin who ended the session on top with a best lap time of 1:20.723s. Zoel Amberg of AV Formula was second ahead of Merhi in third, with Nato and Stanaway finishing in the top five.

Stevens slipped to sixth despite being more than four tenths of a second faster than his morning time, with fellow Briton Rowland in seventh. William Buller was the leading Arden Motorsport driver in the afternoon session in eighth, with Lainé and Jazeman Jaafar of ISR completing the top ten.

Qualifying for race one takes place Saturday morning, with the race to follow later that afternoon.

Moscow Raceway Combined Practice Times

1 Sergey Sirotkin RUS Fortec Motorsports 1:20.723
2 Zoel Amberg SWI AV Formula 1:21.239
3 Roberto Merhi ESP Zeta Corse 1:21.295
4 Norman Nato FRA DAMS 1:21.321
5 Richie Stanaway NZL Lotus 1:21.387
6 Will Stevens GBR Strakka Racing 1:21.515
7 Oliver Rowland GBR Fortec Motorsports 1:21.570
8 William Buller GBR Arden Motorsport 1:21.677
9 Matias Lainé FIN Strakka Racing 1:21.756
10 Jazeman Jaafar MAL ISR 1:21.784
11 Marlon Stockinger PHI Lotus 1:21.957
12 Carlos Sainz Jr ESP DAMS 1:21.970
13 Oscar Tunjo COL Pons Racing 1:21.976
14 Pietro Fantin BRZ International Draco Racing 1:21.996
15 Pierre Gasly FRA Arden Motorsport 1:22.066
16 Meindert van Buuren NED Pons Racing 1:22.472
17 Beitske Visser NED AV Formula 1:22.479
18 Roman Mavlanov RUS Zeta Corse 1:22.730
19 Marco Sorensen DEN Tech 1 Racing 1:22.736
20 Luca Ghiotto ITA International Draco Racing 1:22.788