Sainz Wins Again in Spa to Extend Championship Lead

Red Bull junior driver Carlos Sainz Jr completed a race-win double at Spa-Francorchamps as the DAMS driver dominated the second race of the Formula Renault 3.5 Series on Sunday much like he did race one on Saturday.

Oliver Rowland was Sainz’s closest rival before the pit stop period but a delay for the Briton cost him the chance of the win, leaving Sainz to win by over twelve seconds from Strakka Racing’s Will Stevens.

Fortec Motorsport’s Rowland ultimately finished fourth on the road, but was promoted back up to the podium in third when Lotus driver Richie Stanaway was given a 20-second penalty for making his pit stop outside the pit window that saw the New Zealander fall to eighth.

Pierre Gasly was promoted to fourth for Arden Motorsport with his fellow Frenchman Norman Nato fifth for DAMS, while Jazeman Jaafar added a sixth place in race two to his podium in Saturday’s opener for ISR Racing. Matias Lainé took the second Strakka Racing machine to seventh, while Meindert van Buuren for Pons Racing and Marco Sorensen for Tech 1 Racing completed the top ten behind the penalised Stanaway.

Sainz now leads Gasly in the championship by a comfortable 124 points to 81 points, with Rowland third on 74 points. The series now moves on to Russia and the Moscow Raceway at the end of June.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 2 Result

1 Carlos Sainz Jr ESP DAMS 43m24.524s
2 Will Stevens GBR Strakka Racing +12.330s
3 Oliver Rowland GBR Fortec Motorsport +15.045s
4 Pierre Gasly FRA Arden Motorsport +15.888s
5 Norman Nato FRA DAMS +23.181s
6 Jazeman Jaafar MAL ISR Racing +26.953s
7 Matias Lainé FIN Strakka Racing +27.434s
8 Richie Stanaway NZL Lotus +34.420s
9 Meindert van Buuren NED Pons Racing +45.751s
10 Marco Sorensen DEN Tech 1 Racing +45.937s
11 Marlon Stockinger PHI Lotus +46.686s
12 Will Buller GBR Arden Motorsport +47.099s
13 Roberto Merhi ESP Zeta Corse +57.776s
14 Beitske Visser NED AV Formula +1m02.128s
15 Oscar Tunjo COL Pons Racing +1m10.605s
16 Roman Mavlanov RUS Zeta Corse +1m21.931s
RET Luca Ghiotto ITA International Draco Racing 15 Laps
RET Sergey Sirotkin RUS Fortec Motorsport 6 Laps
RET Pietro Fantin BRZ International Draco Racing 0 Laps
RET Zoel Amberg SWI AV Formula 0 Laps