Williams Reserve Nasr Dominates GP2 Austrian Feature Race

Brazilian Felipe Nasr made a storming start from third on the grid to lead into the first corner in Austria, and the Carlin driver would not relinquish the lead to win his second GP2 Series race of the season.

Williams reserve driver Nasr managed to get past both front row starters Johnny Cecotto Jr and Jolyon Palmer into the first corner, and eventually won the race by 3.874s ahead of ART Grand Prix’s Stoffel Vandoorne. The two front-runners employed different tyre strategies around the Red Bull Ring, with Nasr starting on the harder tyre and switching to the soft at three-quarter distance, while McLaren junior driver Vandoorne stopped earlier to switch from the soft to the hard tyre.

Italian Raffaele Marciello scored his first points of the season with third place for Racing Engineering despite running wide at the first corner of the race and falling to tenth. The Ferrari junior driver managed to pass both Palmer and team-mate Stefano Coletti to grab the podium.

Monegasque driver Coletti finished fourth ahead of Palmer and Cecotto Jr, while Mitch Evans in the Russian Time machine finished seventh. Eighth place and reverse grid pole for tomorrow’s Sprint race went to the EQ8 Caterham Racing machine of American Alexander Rossi having been passed by Evans in the closing stages of the race.

The final two points finishers in the Feature race were Takuya Izawa for ART Grand Prix and Arthur Pic for Campos Racing.

Nasr’s win means he has cut Palmer’s championship lead down to 29 points having been 44 points behind before the race began.

Red Bull Ring Feature Race Result

1 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin 52m32.096s
2 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix +3.874s
3 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering +4.573s
4 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering +7.210s
5 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS +8.902s
6 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing +10.319s
7 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time +14.924s
8 Alexander Rossi USA EQ8 Caterham Racing +20.994s
9 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix +28.182s
10 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing +30.170s
11 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing +31.941s
12 Rene Binder AUT Arden International +36.021s
13 Julian Leal COL Carlin +36.210s
14 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS +39.181s
15 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing +47.388s
16 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International +48.070s
17 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport +48.758s
18 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus +49.656s
19 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport +59.859s
20 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax +1m03.480s
21 Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time +1m09.877s
22 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus +1m16.111s
23 Tio Ellinas CYP MP Motorsport +1m21.369
24 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax +2 Laps
RET Facu Regalia ARG Hilmer Motorsport 28 Laps
RET Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing 1 Lap