Aegerter Beats Kallio For First Grand Prix Win

Dominique Aegerter followed up his first pole position in Grand Prix racing with a well-deserved maiden victory after winning a race-long duel with Mika Kallio. The Swiss rider ended his 129-race drought by passing the Marc VDS rider at the penultimate corner, giving Suter their first victory of the 2014 campaign too.

Aegerter cleared the first hurdle between him and victory by leading off the start line, beating Kallio into turn one. Jordi Torres climbed to third, only to crash out on the fifth lap, and with Esteve Rabat becoming embroiled in a fierce tussle with Simone Corsi, Franco Morbidelli and Maverick Vinales, the front pair comfortably broke away.

The leading duo shadowed each other for lap after lap but the tension was broken four laps from the finish as Aegerter charged up the inside of Kallio into turn one. The Finn fought back next time around, pushing past into turn thirteen, but he couldn’t shake off the Technomag Suter who remained locked on his rear wheel as they started the last lap.

Dominique wasn’t quite close enough to slipstream past into turn one but on the descent from turn eleven, the Swiss made his move with a dive underneath Kallio at the penultimate corner. Just one corner separated Aegerter from a first victory and mindful that the finish line was immediately after it, the defensive line into the final corner proved to be the winning tactic.

Tactics disappeared out of the window in the fight for third with Rabat and Corsi throwing everything at each other in the last two corners. Esteve sent a desperate move up the inside of the last bend but Simone sneaked back through on the exit to claim the final podium place. Rabat finished fourth, losing seven points to his teammate in the title chase, while Maverick Vinales had to make do with fifth after being wrong-footed by German wildcard Nina Prinz while trying to lap her in the closing stages.

Franco Morbidelli capped a magnificent weekend with a career-best sixth with Randy Krummenacher beating Mattia Pasini and Thomas Luthi to seventh. Neither British rider made it into the points with Sam Lowes (20th) and Gino Rea (25th) keen to forget their trip to the Sachsenring.