Coletti leads the way in Hockenheim Practice

Stefano Coletti was fastest in practice ahead of this weekends GP2 Series round at the Hockenheim circuit in Germany. The Racing Engineering driver set a best time of 1:24.771s to pip ART Grand Prix driver Stoffel Vandoorne.

Coletti and Vandoorne swapped places on a couple of occasions, with the Monegasque driver coming out on top, and with his team-mate Raffaele Marciello being third fastest, the Racing Engineering team could be the ones to beat this weekend.

Marciello’s late run to third relegated Alexander Rossi to fourth in his first time in a Campos Racing car having walked out on Caterham during the week. The American is substituting for Kimiya Sato this weekend who has commitments in the Auto GP World Series.

The second American in the field Conor Daly was fifth fastest for Venezula GP Lazarus, and was another to set a quick lap time towards the end of the session having been towards the back of the field up to then.

Stephane Richelmi was sixth for DAMS but team-mate and current GP2 Series championship leader Jolyon Palmer could only set the twelfth best time. Nathanael Berthon, newly confirmed as part of the Caterham Young Driver programme, completed a relatively successful session for the Venezuela GP Lazarus team in seventh.

The two closest rivals to Palmer in the standings were eighth and ninth, with Carlin driver Felipe Nasr just ahead of Trident Racing’s Johnny Cecotto Jr. Austrian driver Rene Binder was tenth for Arden International.

Silverstone Feature race winner Mitch Evans was another to struggle for pace, ending the free practice session down in seventeenth for Russian Time, while Rossi’s replacement in the EQ8 Caterham Racing team Tom Dillmann was twenty-first.

Three drivers stopped on track during the session, with Carlin’s Julian Leal, MP Motorsport’s Marco Sorensen and Campos Racing’s Arthur Pic all failing to get back to the pits.

Hockenheim Free Practice Times

1 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering 1:24.771
2 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix 1:24.881
3 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering 1:25.154
4 Alexander Rossi USA Campos Racing 1:25.177
5 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:25.228
6 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS 1:25.271
7 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:25.299
8 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin 1:25.329
9 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing 1:25.355
10 Rene Binder AUT Arden International 1:25.359
11 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport 1:25.448
12 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS 1:25.494
13 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing 1:25.497
14 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix 1:25.589
15 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:25.671
16 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing 1:25.676
17 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time 1:25.719
18 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport 1:25.736
19 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax 1:25.792
20 Jon Lancaster GBR Hilmer Motorsport 1:25.841
21 Tom Dillmann FRA EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:25.911
22 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax 1:25.964
23 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International 1:26.031
24 Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time 1:26.139
25 Marco Sorensen DEN MP Motorsport 1:26.314
26 Julian Leal COL Carlin 1:26.672