Eriksson Holds off Lynn for First GP3 Win

Jimmy Eriksson took his first GP3 Series victory in race one at Silverstone as the Swede held off the strong challenge of Red Bull-backed Alex Lynn to take the spoils. German Marvin Kirchhofer completed the podium.

Pole man Eriksson made an excellent start, and led comfortably into the first corner. Lynn had to hold off the challenge of the fast starting Jann Mardenborough when the lights went out, and saw Eriksson pulling away for the first couple of laps. Over the closing stages of the 15-lap race, Lynn closed the gap to the leader, and the Carlin finished on the tail of the Koiranen GP driver.

Kirchhofer had a relatively easy race for ART Grand Prix for his third place, and was able to keep the second Carlin of Emil Bernstorff at arms length to take the podium. Bernstorff was fourth ahead of Nick Yelloly of Status Grand Prix.

Hilmer Motorsport scored their first ever GP3 Series points when Riccardo Agostini crossed the line in sixth, staying ahead of championship contender Richie Stanaway of Status Grand Prix who ended the race seventh. Dino Zamparelli took eighth and pole position for tomorrow’s second race after climbing up after taking a grid penalty for overtaking under yellow flags in qualifying.

After Mardenborough’s good start, the Arden International driver fell down to ninth by the end of the race as he struggled to keep the faster drivers behind him. He did however score his first GP3 Series points of the season. Marussia Manor Racing’s Dean Stoneman made it six Briton’s in the top ten by climbing into the tenth position after starting in the midfield pack in 16th.

The only retirement of the race was Uruguayan Santiago Urrutia on the opening lap. The Koiranen GP driver made contact with Carlin driver Luis Sa Silva, and whilst the Macau driver could continue, Urrutia ended up stuck in the gravel trap.

There was one non-starter at Silverstone; unfortunately for Mitch Gilbert and Trident Racing, the Australian, who was set to make his GP3 debut, has been ruled out of the weekend’s races after his qualifying crash.

Silverstone Race 1 Result

1 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Koiranen GP 27m32.301s
2 Alex Lynn GBR Carlin +0.958s
3 Marvin Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix +7.150s
4 Emil Bernstorff GBR Carlin +9.882s
5 Nick Yelloly GBR Status Grand Prix +10.937s
6 Riccardo Agostini ITA Hilmer Motorsport +12.774s
7 Richie Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix +14.413s
8 Dino Zamparelli GBR ART Grand Prix +16.895s
9 Jann Mardenborough GBR Arden International +18.661s
10 Dean Stoneman GBR Marussia Manor Racing +20.132s
11 Pal Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport +24.887s
12 Patrick Kujala FIN Marussia Manor Racing +25.530s
13 Patric Niederhauser SWI Arden International +28.616s
14 Matheo Tuscher SWI Jenzer Motorsport +29.400s
15 Alex Fontana SWI ART Grand Prix +29.701s
16 Alfonso Celis Jr MEX Status Grand Prix +33.436s
17 Roman de Beer RSA Trident Racing +35.407s
18 Luis Sa Silva MAC Carlin +39.583s
19 Ryan Cullen GBR Marussia Manor Racing +46.549s
20 Robert Visoiu ROM Arden International +47.035s
21 Adderly Fong CHN Jenzer Motorsport +47.550s
22 Sebastian Balthasar GER Hilmer Motorsport +48.303s
23 Victor Carbone BRZ Trident Racing +1m10.180s
24 Carmen Jorda ESP Koiranen GP +1m35.243s
25 Nelson Mason CAN Hilmer Motorsport +2 Laps
RET Santiago Urrutia URU Koiranen GP 0 Laps
DNS Mitch Gilbert AUS Trident Racing 0 Laps