Evans Wins Thrilling Hockenheim Feature Race

The 200th race of the GP2 Series’ history will go down as one of the best, and will be remembered fondly for Mitch Evans climbing from fifteenth on the grid at Hockenheim to claim his second consecutive Feature race victory after also triumphing at Silverstone two weeks ago.

The Russian Time driver had struggled for pace in practice and qualifying but decided on an aggressive tyre strategy that ultimately paid off for the New Zealander. In the extreme heat of Hockenheim, he made a good start on the soft tyre and made up four positions on the opening lap, and survived a clash with Alexander Rossi on lap five that saw the American retire with suspension damage on his Campos Racing debut.

He made his compulsory pit stop to change to the medium tyres on lap fourteen, and then worked his way through the field on fresher rubber and took the chequered flag ahead of ART Grand Prix driver Stoffel Vandoorne. The Belgian failed to take advantage of superior grip from his tyres after his pit stop to swap from the mediums to the softs, and finished on Evans’ tail.

Vandoorne had taken the lead at the start after pole sitter Jolyon Palmer was slow away, and it was the Briton in his DAMS machine who completed the podium. A good on-track battle between Vandoorne and Palmer enabled Evans to hold onto the victory by four tenths of a second.

Stefano Coletti won a great battle with Felipe Nasr for fourth place; the Racing Engineering driver beating the Carlin driver by less than half a second across the line. Simon Trummer was able to make the most of superior tyres at the end of the race to take sixth for his first points since Bahrain, with the Rapax driver passing the Trident Racing machine of Johnny Cecotto Jr late in the race.

Eighth place and reverse grid pole position went to Frenchman and newly appointed Caterham Development Driver Nathanael Berthon of Venezuela GP Lazarus, who took his and the teams’ first points of a very difficult 2014 up to this point. Dane Marco Sorensen finished ninth for MP Motorsport after starting in twenty-fourth, while the final point went to Stephane Richelmi of DAMS. Richelmi had attempted a similar strategy as race winner Evans but made his stop earlier and fell away as his tyres faded.

Racing Engineering’s Raffaele Marciello and Campos Racing’s Arthur Pic both were in contention for points ahead of their pit stops, but both stalled on the grid, while Tom Dillmann, racing for EQ8 Caterham Racing for the first time, stalled on the grid as the lights went out at the start. He would recover to twelfth, but Marciello and Pic were consigned to seventeenth and nineteenth respectively.

Hockenheim Race 1 Result

1 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time 58m15.099s
2 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix +0.414s
3 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS +2.341s
4 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering +20.191s
5 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin +20.687s
6 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax +23.432s
7 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing +30.583s
8 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus +33.160s
9 Marco Sorensen DEN MP Motorsport +35.879s
10 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS +36.857s
11 Rene Binder AUT Arden International +37.111s
12 Tom Dillmann FRA EQ8 Caterham Racing +38.081s
13 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix +43.096s
14 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax +47.572s
15 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing +49.996s
16 Julian Leal COL Carlin +58.217s
17 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering +1m02.333s
18 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International +1m04.818s
19 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing +1m05.181s
20 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport +1m09.082s
21 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus +1m09.244s
22 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing +1 Lap
RET Jon Lancaster GBR Hilmer Motorsport 24 Laps
RET Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport 12 Laps
RET Alexander Rossi USA Campos Racing 5 Laps
RET Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time 0 Laps