Home Win for Kirchhofer at Scorching Hockenheim

Marvin Kirchhofer converted his maiden GP3 Series pole position into a maiden victory by claming the spoils around a boiling hot Hockenheim. The German held off the challenge of Carlin drivers Alex Lynn and Emil Bernstorff to take the twenty-five points on offer.

The ART Grand Prix driver made a confident start off the line to hold off Lynn, and with Bernstorff in tow, they pulled away from the rest of the field. Lynn dropped off the tail of Kirchhofer towards the end of the race, but was able to hold off Bernstorff for second, a job made easier by Bernstorff running wide at turn one on lap twelve.

It was a good day for British drivers, with six finishing in the top eight. As well as Lynn and Bernstorff on the podium, Nick Yelloly finished fourth for Status Grand Prix, ahead of Dean Stoneman of Marussia Manor Racing in fifth and Dino Zamparelli of ART Grand Prix in sixth; Stoneman passed Zamparelli on the final lap of the race.

Championship contender Jimmy Eriksson was seventh for Koiranen GP, the Swede holding off the challenge of the sixth Briton in the points and tomorrow’s pole sitter Jann Mardenborough of Arden International. Italian Riccardo Agostini of Hilmer Motorsport and Robert Visoiu of Arden International, who took his first point of a difficult 2014, took the final two points-paying positions.

Both Matheo Tuscher of Jenzer Motorsport and Richie Stanaway of Status Grand Prix were running in the points early in the race, but Tuscher dropped away with tyre issues, while Stanaway made contact with Agostini that knocked him down to thirteenth at the flag.

Hockenheim Race 1 Result

1 Marvin Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix 27m47.577s
2 Alex Lynn GBR Carlin +3.359s
3 Emil Bernstorff GBR Carlin +4.459s
4 Nick Yelloly GBR Status Grand Prix +9.770s
5 Dean Stoneman GBR Marussia Manor Racing +12.928s
6 Dino Zamparelli GBR ART Grand Prix +14.922s
7 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Koiranen GP +16.792s
8 Jann Mardenborough GBR Arden International +17.173s
9 Riccardo Agostini ITA Hilmer Motorsport +18.231s
10 Robert Visoiu ROM Arden International +18.752s
11 Alex Fontana SWI ART Grand Prix +20.483s
12 Patric Niederhauser SWI Arden International +29.000s
13 Richie Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix +29.462s
14 Mitchell Gilbert AUS Trident Racing +29.672s
15 Adderly Fong CHN Jenzer Motorsport +29.873s
16 Nelson Mason CAN Hilmer Motorsport +32.628s
17 Luis Sa Silva MAC Carlin +36.620s
18 Matheo Tuscher SWI Jenzer Motorsport +37.224s
19 Pal Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport +37.444s
20 Ryan Cullen GBR Marussia Manor Racing +37.635s
21 Roman de Beer RSA Trident Racing +41.959s
22 Santiago Urrutia URU Koiranen GP +46.976s
23 Victor Carbone BRZ Trident Racing +47.277s
24 Sebastian Balthasar GER Hilmer Motorsport +1m21.218s
25/RET Patrick Kujala FIN Marussia Manor Racing +2 Laps
RET Carmen Jorda ESP Koiranen GP 7 Laps
RET Alfonso Celis Jr MEX Status Grand Prix 1 Lap