Maiden GP2 Pole for Felipe Nasr at the Hungaroring

Brazilian Felipe Nasr took his first GP2 Series pole position in the heat of the Hungaroring to close the gap in the standings to Championship leader Jolyon Palmer.

The four points on offer for the pole means Carlin driver Nasr now only 41 points behind Palmer, who for the first time in 2014 qualified off the front row of the grid. The British DAMS driver was only seventh fastest but will start sixth after a penalty for Johnny Cecotto Jr.

Joining Nasr on the front row will be Frenchman Tom Dillmann, who is making a good case for himself being kept on full-time by the EQ8 Caterham Racing team after replacing Alexander Rossi last time out in Germany. Dillmann was 0.182s behind Nasr in the session.

The second row will be an all Campos Racing affair, with both Arthur Pic and Kimiya Sato enjoying their best session of the season. For Sato in particular, it is a good sign of progress, after struggling in the lower reaches of the field for pretty much the whole season to date.

Cecotto Jr qualified fifth but will start eighth after the Trident Racing driver was penalised for a clash with Palmer in practice. The Venezuelan drops behind Stoffel Vandoorne of ART Grand Prix, Palmer and Raffaele Marciello of Racing Engineering.

Dane Marco Sorensen continued his good form for MP Motorsport by qualifying ninth, while the top ten was rounded out by the second DAMS machine of Stephane Richelmi.

Double race winner Mitch Evans struggled to eleventh for Russian Time, but the winner of the Sprint race in Germany last weekend Stefano Coletti was even lower in the second Racing Engineering machine in sixteenth.

Hungaroring Feature Race Qualifying Result

1 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin 1:28.436
2 Tom Dillmann FRA EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:28.618
3 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing 1:28.643
4 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing 1:28.658
5 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix 1:28.740
6 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS 1:28.791
7 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering 1:28.932
8* Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing 1:28.709
9 Marco Sorensen DEN MP Motorsport 1:28.935
10 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS 1:28.941
11 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time 1:28.969
12 Julian Leal COL Carlin 1:29.008
13 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax 1:29.060
14 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport 1:29.125
15 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering 1:29.139
16 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing 1:29.142
17 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport 1:29.143
18 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:29.217
19 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:29.233
20 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:29.277
21 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International 1:29.292
22 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax 1:29.462
23 Jon Lancaster GBR Hilmer Motorsport 1:29.680
24 Rene Binder AUT Arden International 1:29.895
25 Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time 1:30.078
26 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix 1:30.427

*3 Place Grid Penalty*