Maiden GP3 Pole for Stanaway in Hungary

by Paul Hensby

Richie Stanaway took his first GP3 Series pole position in qualifying ahead of this afternoons opening race of the weekend at the Hungaroring in Hungary.

The Status Grand Prix driver took the four points on offer for pole, defeating current championship leader Alex Lynn by less than a tenth of a second, with the Carlin driver just ahead of Stanaway’s team-mate Nick Yelloly, who was one of only a handful of drivers to improve his team after the resumption of the session after a red flag to clear up the car of the third Status driver Alfonso Celis Jr.

Romanian Robert Visoiu took his best qualifying result of the season in fourth, the Arden International driver just beating Friday practice pace setter Dino Zamparelli, who was the leading ART Grand Prix driver in fifth.

The second Carlin of Emil Bernstorff took sixth ahead of the second Arden of Patric Niederhauser, while Alex Fontana was eighth in the second ART Grand Prix machine.

Patrick Kujala will start race one from ninth in the leading Marussia Manor Racing entry, while Germany race one winner Marvin Kirchhofer took tenth but will start fourteenth after a penalty carried over from the second race in Germany is applied.

His demotion would have promoted Luis Sa Silva in the third Carlin entry into the top ten, but the Macau driver has also received a five-place grid penalty, as he overtook Visoiu under a red flag in Friday practice. Therefore Championship contender Jimmy Eriksson will start tenth, despite the Koiranen GP driver struggling for pace during the session.

Hungaroring Race 1 Qualifying Result

1 Richie Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix 1:33.553
2 Alex Lynn GBR Carlin 1:33.588
3 Nick Yelloly GBR Status Grand Prix 1:33.679
4 Robert Visoiu ROM Arden International 1:33.729
5 Dino Zamparelli GBR ART Grand Prix 1:33.771
6 Emil Bernstorff GBR Carlin 1:33.807
7 Patric Niederhauser SWI Arden International 1:33.873
8 Alex Fontana SWI ART Grand Prix 1:33.894
9 Patrick Kujala FIN Marussia Manor Racing 1:33.975
10 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Koiranen GP 1:34.124
11 Jann Mardenborough GBR Arden International 1:34.231
12 Mitchell Gilbert AUS Trident Racing 1:34.253
13 Santiago Urrutia URU Koiranen GP 1:34.265
14* Marvin Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix 1:34.076
15* Luis Sa Silva MAC Carlin 1:34.084
16 Dean Stoneman GBR Marussia Manor Racing 1:34.308
17 Roman de Beer RSA Trident Racing 1:34.327
18 Riccardo Agostini ITA Hilmer Motorsport 1:34.346
19 Matheo Tuscher SWI Jenzer Motorsport 1:34.420
20 Nelson Mason CAN Hilmer Motorsport 1:34.450
21 Sebastian Balthasar GER Hilmer Motorsport 1:34.569
22 Alfonso Celis Jr MEX Status Grand Prix 1:34.821
23 Christopher Hoher AUT Jenzer Motorsport 1:35.776
24 Ryan Cullen GBR Marussia Manor Racing 1:35.915
25 Carmen Jorda ESP Koiranen GP 1:38.632
26* Pal Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport 1:34.545

*5 Place Grid Penalty*


Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More