Marciello Marches to Maiden Pole at Silverstone

Italian Raffaele Marciello followed up his practice topping time to take his maiden GP2 Series pole position at Silverstone. The Racing Engineering driver beat current championship leader Jolyon Palmer by 0.027s in an exciting and close session around the British track.

The Ferrari Academy Driver set his best time on his first set of tyres early in the session to take the four points for pole, with DAMS driver Palmer breathing down his neck. Russian Time driver Mitch Evans took third, only 0.006s behind Palmer, with Julian Leal of Carlin fourth only 0.006s behind Evans!

ART Grand Prix’s Stoffel Vandoorne will start fifth ahead of the second Carlin of Felipe Nasr, while series debutant Marco Sorensen impressed for MP Motorsport, taking seventh on the grid and setting a lap time identical to the ten-thousandth of a second to championship contender Nasr. Nasr will start ahead due to the fact he set the time first.

Stephane Richelmi qualified eighth in the second DAMS entry, ahead of Johnny Cecotto Jr of Trident Racing, while Daniel Abt, bidding to score his first points of the season for Hilmer Motorsport, was tenth.

Stefano Coletti, team-mate to pole sitter Marciello, fell to eleventh in qualifying after placing second in the earlier practice session. Alexander Rossi, who was third in practice for EQ8 Caterham Racing, will start down in sixteenth.

Silverstone Qualifying Result

1 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering 1:40.445
2 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS 1:40.472
3 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time 1:40.478
4 Julian Leal COL Carlin 1:40.484
5 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix 1:40.646
6 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin 1:40.658
7 Marco Sorensen DEN MP Motorsport 1:40.658
8 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS 1:40.762
9 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing 1:40.845
10 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport 1:40.880
11 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering 1:40.885
12 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing 1:40.961
13 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax 1:41.064
14 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:41.166
15 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing 1:41.196
16 Alexander Rossi USA EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:41.235
17 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax 1:41.252
18 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport 1:41.330
19 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:41.362
20 Jon Lancaster GBR Hilmer Motorsport 1:41.549
21 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:41.556
22 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing 1:41.686
23 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International 1:41.908
24 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix 1:42.003
25 Rene Binder AUT Arden International 1:42.373
26 Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time 1:42.724