Mardenborough Masters Hockenheim for Maiden GP3 Win

Jann Mardenborough superbly controlled race two at Hockenheim to convert his pole position earned from finishing eighth in race one into his maiden GP3 Series win for Arden International.

The Nissan-backed Briton led home countryman Dino Zamparelli, with Mardenborough winning by almost four seconds at the flag, and broke the ART Grand Prix drivers challenge early with a handful of fastest laps.

Swede Jimmy Eriksson survived a small off at the hairpin to complete the podium for Koiranen GP, and held off the challenge of Championship leader Alex Lynn of Carlin for long periods of the race, while Dean Stoneman of Marussia Manor Racing took advantage of a mistake from Status Grand Prix driver Nick Yelloly to take fifth as five Brits finished in the top six.

One of Mardenborough’s team-mates Patric Niederhauser made a good start to get into the points in seventh, while Richie Stanaway took the final point for Status Grand Prix in eighth.

Race one winner Marvin Kirchhofer was in the wars in his ART Grand Prix machine, colliding with the Carlin of Emil Bernstorff on lap seven that spun the Briton and ultimately ended both of their races. The German is under investigation for the clash and should expect a penalty for when the series resumes next weekend in Hungary.

Riccardo Agostini and Robert Visoiu had a good battle for ninth that the Hilmer Motorsport driver ultimately won on the final lap by passing the Arden International driver, but ultimately they left Hockenheim without adding to their point’s tallies.

Hockenheim Race 2 Result

1 Jann Mardenborough GBR Arden International 27m48.880s
2 Dino Zamparelli GBR ART Grand Prix +3.860s
3 Jimmy Eriksson SWE Koiranen GP +6.196s
4 Alex Lynn GBR Carlin +7.687s
5 Dean Stoneman GBR Marussia Manor Racing +8.688s
6 Nick Yelloly GBR Status Grand Prix +9.169s
7 Patric Niederhauser SWI Arden International +10.046s
8 Richie Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix +13.158s
9 Riccardo Agostini ITA Hilmer Motorsport +13.502s
10 Robert Visoiu ROM Arden International +14.251s
11 Luis Sa Silva MAC Carlin +15.999s
12 Matheo Tuscher SWI Jenzer Motorsport +21.983s
13 Adderly Fong CHN Jenzer Motorsport +22.949s
14 Alex Fontana SWI ART Grand Prix +23.343s
15 Nelson Mason CAN Hilmer Motorsport +24.801s
16 Patrick Kujala FIN Marussia Manor Racing +27.467s
17 Roman de Beer RSA Trident Racing +29.522s
18 Santiago Urrutia URU Koiranen GP +30.129s
19 Ryan Cullen GBR Marussia Manor Racing +42.308s
20 Victor Carbone BRZ Trident Racing +43.252s
21 Sebastian Balthasar GER Hilmer Motorsport +43.815s
22 Carmen Jorda ESP Koiranen GP +1m09.384s
23/RET Alfonso Celis Jr MEX Status Grand Prix +1 Lap
RET Mitchell Gilbert AUS Trident Racing 12 Laps
RET Emil Bernstorff GBR Carlin 8 Laps
RET Marvin Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix 7 Laps
RET Pal Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport 0 Laps