Mitch Evans Takes Maiden GP2 Win at Damp Silverstone

New Zealander Mitch Evans took his maiden GP2 Series win in the Feature Race around a damp Silverstone. The Russian Time driver took advantage of Raffaele Marciello’s retirement and an excellent out-lap to beat Jolyon Palmer to the victory and his first visit to the top step of the podium.

Marciello led strongly away for Racing Engineering, and was building up a good lead when he was forced to pull off the track with a mechanical issue that handed the lead to DAMS driver Palmer. Evans bided his time and pitted a lap later than Palmer, and took the lead that he held until the chequered flag.

Stoffel Vandoorne took third for ART Grand Prix, but the Belgian driver was over twenty-five seconds behind race winner Evans.

Julian Leal was classified fourth for Carlin, but was penalised a spot by stewards for colliding with Stefano Coletti of Racing Engineering on the final lap, who inherits the fourth place instead. Johnny Cecotto Jr, a double race winner already this season for Trident Racing finished sixth.

Felipe Nasr, currently sitting second in the championship standings, finished seventh for Carlin but was on course for a podium before a slow pit stop cost him valuable time.

Stephane Richelmi held onto the valuable eighth position and reverse grid pole for Sunday’s Sprint race for DAMS, and will be looking to secure his second victory of the season after his win in Monaco. He was given a good challenge by series debutant Marco Sorensen, who secured two championship points for MP Motorsport in ninth, while Daniel Abt finally secured Hilmer Motorsport’s first point of the season with tenth.

Silverstone Feature Race Result

1 Mitch Evans NZL RT Russian Time 50m56.307s
2 Jolyon Palmer GBR DAMS +4.941s
3 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix +25.680s
4 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering +32.077s
5 Julian Leal COL Carlin  
6 Johnny Cecotto Jr VEN Trident Racing +32.225s
7 Felipe Nasr BRZ Carlin +32.977s
8 Stephane Richelmi MON DAMS +34.849s
9 Marco Sorensen DEN MP Motorsport +35.055s
10 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport +40.275s
11 Arthur Pic FRA Campos Racing +43.017s
12 Alexander Rossi USA EQ8 Caterham Racing +44.568s
13 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax +45.715s
14 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus +47.455s
15 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident Racing +49.565s
16 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix +56.175s
17 Nathanael Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus +57.811s
18 Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time +1m00.948s
19 Daniel de Jong NED MP Motorsport +1m01.667s
20 Andre Negrao BRZ Arden International +1m03.906s
21 Rio Haryanto INO EQ8 Caterham Racing +1m04.778s
22 Jon Lancaster GBR Hilmer Motorsport +1m05.083s
23 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing +1m18.405s
24 Rene Binder AUT Arden International +2 Laps
25 Simon Trummer SWI Rapax +3 Laps
RET Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering 14 Laps